Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journal and Magazine Articles
Exactly which databases you'd use would depend on your topic. The Databases, eResources, & Tools list can be sorted in several ways, including by subject. For example, here's the History database list. The list below is a sample of those most likely to be of use to those in history looking for secondary works. There is also a list for Primary Sources.
America: History & Life with Full Text
1955-present. A comprehensive database of journal articles citations and abstracts, book citations, and dissertations relating to the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Also has a non-US history counterpart, Historical Abstracts. You can also search both simultaneously. After connecting, click on Choose Database and scroll through the database list and select Historical Abstracts.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
1955-present. A comprehensive database of journal articles citations and abstracts, book citations, and dissertations relating to the history and culture of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Also has a U.S. and Canadian history counterpart, America: History and Life. After connecting, click on Choose Database and scroll through the database list and select America: History and Life.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
Citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters written from 1951 to the present. Links to full text of journal articles. Strong international coverage, incorporating over 100 languages and countries. Covers all areas of social sciences. Database Guide
Periodicals Archive Online
ca. 1800 - 2000. Historical backfiles of periodicals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Exact dates of coverage varies by periodical. Database Guide
Web of Science
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.
Catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.