CMU LibGuides: History: Databases: Archival

Archival

These databases can identify which archive has original manuscript material relevant to your topic. Unless the material has been duplicated in some way (digitized, microformed, etc.), plan on visiting the repository to get access to the material.

Archive Finder This link opens in a new window
Describes over 220,000 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland. Database Guide
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Over five million records describing archival materials. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, this database helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.

Center For Research Libraries
Provides primary source materials to its members through extended loans or “on demand” digitization. Since CMU is a member, you can request items from them via interlibrary loan

HELIOS This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to portions of the congressional papers from the late U.S. Senator John Heinz (R-PA).

Historic Pittsburgh Finding Aids
Access to guides that describe archival collections held by the University of Pittsburgh's Library System, including the Archives Service Center and Special Collections, and the Library & Archives of the Historical Society of Western Pennsylvania at the Heinz History Center. Over 1,500 finding aids describe important archival collections on greater Pittsburgh area history.
National Archives Catalog
Online public portal to records and information about the records. The catalog currently provides access to over 2 million electronic records currently in the Electronic Records Archives (ERA), which are not available elsewhere online.
Senator John Heinz History Center Detre Library and Archives
A non-circulating collection of books, newspapers, manuscripts, and maps documenting life in Western Pennsylvania. Archival materials include personal and family papers, associations' records, and records of business and industry.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Contains over 48 million records, covering all materials cataloged by OCLC member libraries around the world.