Search our catalog for handbooks, guides, manuals and more. Here's a search tip:
Use Advanced Search and search the Subject field for grants OR funds, and search Anywhere for handbooks OR guides OR manuals
Here's are some sample results:
Grant Writing Business by
Start Your Own Grant Writing Business Thanks to funders like the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, grant writing is a growing industry and a vital service needed by nonprofit organizations. Order this guide and learn how to use your existing talents to get started as a grant writer--earning not only big profits but the priceless satisfaction that comes from helping laudable causes find funding. Grant writing is a craft that can be cultivated and mastered, and we show you how. You learn the main elements of a grant proposal, how to identify a need and propose a solution for foundations, where to look for grant funders, and what tactics to use to approach them. Learn everything you need to know to get started in this lucrative industry with step-by-step guidelines, including: Who needs grants Types of funders Finding grants Understanding a funders' guidelines A to Z of the grant proposal Effective grant-writing techniques How to confidently run your business If you enjoy delving into research, have great writing and speaking skills, and can passionately communicate the missions of organizations you believe in, you could have a bright future as the owner of a grant writing business. This guide gives you a one-of-a-kind grant-writing toolkit and shows you how to use it to win funding. Whether you'd like to write full or part time, this guide's top-to-bottom look at the field ensures you start like a seasoned pro. This kit includes: * Essential industry and business-specific startup steps with worksheets, calculators, checklists and more. * Entrepreneur Editors’ Start Your Own Business, a guide to starting any business and surviving the first three years. * Downloadable, customizable business letters, sales letters, and other sample documents * Entrepreneur’s Small Business Legal Toolkit.
How to Write a Research Grant Proposal - and Succeed by
The Grant Writer's Handbook: How to Write a Research Proposal and Succeed provides useful and practical advice on all aspects of proposal writing, including developing proposal ideas, drafting the proposal, dealing with referees, and budgeting. The authors base their advice on many years of experience writing and reviewing proposals in many different countries at various levels of scientific maturity. The book describes the numerous kinds of awards available from funding agencies, in particular large collaborative grants involving a number of investigators, and addresses the practical impact of a grant, which is often required of proposals. In addition, information is provided about selection of reviewers and the mechanics of organizing a research grant competition to give the proposal writer the necessary background information. The book includes key comments from a number of experts and is essential reading for anyone writing a research grant proposal.The Grant Writer's Handbook's companion website, featuring regularly updated resources and helpful links, can be found at www.ifm.eng.cam.ac.uk/research/grant-writers-handbook/.
Research Projects and Research Proposals by
This book is a guide to writing scientific research proposals for submission to funding agencies. It approaches the topic by placing it in the larger context of planning and carrying out a research project, offering guidance on selecting a suitable research topic, organizing and planning the project, identifying a funding agency, writing the proposal, and managing the funded project. The book also discusses the ethical responsibilities of the researcher, the proposal review process, and how to deal with declination of a proposal. The author's 25 years of experience as an NSF program officer lend the book a unique insider's perspective on the proposal writing and research funding process. Because of that experience, the author is able to anticipate and answer the questions that researchers most frequently ask when preparing to write a proposal, and also to explain how program officers think about proposals when they are making funding decisions.
Tips:
Pivot Search Videos [Check out the Pivot YouTube Channel 
]
Federal and private funding sources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
GrantForward Search Videos [Check out the GrantForward YouTube Channel ]
IRS 990 Forms
IRS Form 990 is an informational tax form that most tax-exempt organizations must file annually. The form gives information about the organization's mission, programs and finances - including grants awarded.
US Government Grant Listservs:
Subscribe to receive updates via the listservs