Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Doctoral Dissertations (ADD), 1933-1955
ADD indexes nearly 100,000 dissertations from 1933 through 1955 and represents the only comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by U.S. universities during that period of time.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)
Citations to mostly western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
The most comprehensive resource on the market for communication research and offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE)
The full panoply of American regional vocabulary represented interactively with multimedia tool that will greatly augment scholarly research in language and linguistics.
Dissertations and Theses @ Carnegie Mellon
Covers 1920-present. Full text of some dissertations may be available 1997-present. Citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses CMU graduate students have published through UMI Dissertation Publishing. In addition to citations and abstracts, the service provides free access to 24 page previews and the full text in PDF format, when available. In most cases, this will be works published in 1997 forward.
Dissertations and Theses Global
Dissertations and theses from around the world, from 1861 to the present, with full text for most added since 1997.
Digitized books, journals, and government documents from all countries and time periods.
Text-mine (full text search)
over 10 million digitized works and create customized collections. Contact your liaison librarian
for more information.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
The single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English.
Provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines. The database offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences and includes journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Database Guide
Stalin Digital Archive
Joseph Stalin's personal papers (Russian language) and translated primary sources.
For a full list of databases, see Databases A-Z. Also, be sure to check guides by subject when researching interdisciplinary topics.
Lit Review & Systematic Lit Review
NOTE: Not all reviews are suited for all research pedagogy and writing. Check out our Systematic Review Guide for guidance on selecting the correct review method.
Advanced Search in Google Scholar
Up Your Google Scholar Game
Up your search strategies
KEEP IN MIND:
Keep track of your strategies
- Prepare synonyms, don't just rely on those provided by a single database <each database speaks its own language depending on how specialized they are>
- Check HELP in each database, some use different characters than standard truncations <like using "?" instead of "*">
- Don't just look at subjects, look at author provided keywords.