CMU LibGuides: Languages, Cultures & Applied Linguistics: Home

Tips for finding non-English sources

Need to find non-English sources? Here are some tips that will work for all languages.

Use Advanced Search and limit by language (if available). In general, most online databases support direct target language searching. When searching library catalogs (such as Carnegie Mellon University's catalog - CAMEO), or any of our online databases and web search engines such as Wikipedia, Google Scholar, or Google Books, use the target language.
Look for foreign-language reference books. Many are available here at CMU, but also check the University of Pittsburgh's catalog and make sure to visit their specialized collections such as the East Asian Library, and the Eduardo Lozano Latin American Collection.
Check one of the following sources:

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date
Ethnic Newspapers (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Search and display articles from ethnic newspapers culled from the Access World News database from NewsBank. Exact dates vary by title, but most ca. 2000 - present.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
The single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English.
ProQuest U.S. Hispanic Newsstream This link opens in a new window
U.S. Hispanic Newsstream offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from U.S. publishers in both Spanish and English including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La Opinión (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and Extra (Chicago).
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
One of the most comprehensive foreign language newspaper and news sources. You can browse by type of resource and country.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Digitized books, journals, and government documents from all countries and time periods.
Text-mine (full text search) over 17 million digitized works and create customized collections. HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries. Offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. We aim to cover all subjects and languages. There are now 5458 journals in the directory. Currently, you can search 2293 journals at article level. As of today 448731 articles are included in the DOAJ service.