LibGuides: Languages, Cultures, & Applied Linguistics: Spanish

Reading, Reference and Research

While many Library Databases will contain some Spanish-language articles that can be filtered, some specialize in them

Databases with Spanish-language periodicals

Informe Académico This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines. The database offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America.
ClasePeriodica This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly journals from Latin America in all subject areas.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Citations to critical research of language, literature, and folklore for all periods beginning with the Middle Ages.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, international, full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works.

Other Databases for Spanish and Portuguese research

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences and includes journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Database Guide
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles in important academic journals from all disciplines (latest few years not available); also eBooks from leading academic publishers, as well as some images.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. A comprehensive database of journal articles citations and abstracts, book citations, and dissertations relating to the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Allows searching by historical time period of subject of articles. Selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education. Provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955 as well as the full text of more than 300 journals and over 130 books.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
"Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites." - About Google Scholar
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Current humanities and social science journals from a variety of university presses.

Primary Source Hispanic Literature Databases

Antologia del Ensayo
Centro Virtual Cervantes
Colonial Latin America (Internet Modern History Sourcebook)
Cuban Cinema (Oxford Bibliographies)
Enlaces Literarios
History of Spain: Primary Documents
LatAmEstudios
LatAmEstudios+ is an open access digital collection of full-text peer reviewed journals incorporates more than 50 journals specialized in Latin American and Caribbean Humanities and Social Sciences.
Obras literarias completas: poesía, teatro y narrativa
Poesia en Espanol

Learn Spanish

Latin American Studies

How much do you know about Latin America? Get connected.

Biblioteca Ayacucho Digital

Center for Latin American Studies (Pitt)

Council on Hemispheric Affairs

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture

National Hispanic Cultural Center

Pittsburgh Hispanic Community Guide

South America and Central America Map Quiz

U.S. Latino Studies Programs