CMU LibGuides: Cybersecurity: Finding Articles

Using the Library Catalog

Use the Library Search Tool

Many of our electronic journals can simply be located from our Library homepage. This engine will search across many research databases and help you to hone in on key resources for your research.

Use Our Resources for Finding Sources to locate a specific materials.

Don't Forget the Reference Librarian

If at any time you want us to double check to see if we have access to a particular journal, please don't hesitate to ask via Email or Chat, or contact your Liaison Jessica Benner directly.

Open Access Databases

These databases and resources provide open access to their contents.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use this link to configure Google Scholar to find full-text at the CMU Libraries. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
CiteSeerX This link opens in a new window
Free computer science citation database with some full text available. Lists the most frequently cited authors and documents in computer science, as well as impact ratings. Also provides algorithms, metadata, services, techniques, and software.
Computing Research Repository (CoRR) This link opens in a new window
Repository of computer science papers made available through through the partnership of ACM, ArXiv e-print archive, and NCSTRL (Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library).
Computing Reviews This link opens in a new window
The leading review service for books and articles across all disciplines of computing.

DBLP Computer Science Bibliography
This service provides open bibliographic information on major computer science journals and proceedings.
Science of Security (SoS) Search Page
The Science of Security (SoS) Initiative at the National Security Agency Research Directorate promotes foundational cybersecurity science that is needed to mature the cybersecurity discipline and to underpin advances in cyberdefense.

University Libraries Databases

Finding articles can be more art than science because different databases index different journals. Here is a list of databases available through the University Libraries that index articles, conference papers, and proceedings related to Cybersecurity fields of study.

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of journal articles, conference proceedings, and reviews published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic and industry periodicals in all business disciplines. Also industry, company, and country reports.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Articles in communications, computer science, engineering, environmental science, IT, operations research, physics and robotics.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics from IEEE journals and conference proceedings. Also includes all current IEEE standards.
Lecture Notes in Computer Science This link opens in a new window
Full text of conference proceedings in computer science from Springer. About 100 conferences published per year.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is SciVerse's leading full-text scientific database offering science, medical and technical (STM) journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and over 11,000 books. Content may be mined for noncommercial purposes using the ScienceDirect APIs. Please view the terms and conditions for more information and how to gain access. Or contact your liaison librarian for more information.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Academic database covering peer-reviewed journals, book series, and conference proceedings - includes scientific, medical, technical and social science topics, with emphasis on citation analysis. Scival feature requires registration but is free to CMU affiliates.
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Essential journals, books, and reference works in many fields, primarily science, technology, mathematics, social science, psychology and business. Formerly SpringerLink, now Springer Nature Link
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.

All Databases A to Z Listing
This is a complete listing of databases that are available to the Carnegie Mellon University community.