It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion: Resources for specific groups
This guide is organized by the University Libraries' Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Collective
The mission of the Libraries' Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Collective is to discover, create, and implement policies, resources, and programming that contribute to an environment of tolerance, inclusion, creativity, and curiosity. This collective will take a leadership role in ensuring that underrepresented voices are amplified in our collections, workforce, and services. This collective will connect Libraries employees with recommendations and resources to serve all members of the CMU community with empathy and respect. This guide is one of these resources. If you have suggestions for items to add to this guide, send an email to jbenner at andrew.cmu.edu.
This resource offers a series of videos, a worksheet and some slides related to creating inclusive spaces. Some good tools from the slide deck by Mazin Jamal of Holistic Underground are:
● Land acknowledgement
● Community agreements
● Ask for ADA needs on registration
● Live closed captioning
● Have a sign language translator
● Have a volunteer person to help
● Make your slides legible
● Inviting participants to ask for support
An Association of Women in Science (AWIS) resource about inclusive language. From the page, "While language is ever present, inclusive language may be more elusive. As it has seen a rapid rise in popularity, it also has lost much of its meaning along the way, making it effectively a buzzword. Talking about inclusivity helps raise awareness, but the much more important work is implementing it."
CMU's Center for Student Diversity and Inclusion. The Center offers resources to enhance an inclusive and transformative student experience in dimensions such as access, success, campus climate and intergroup dialogue. Additionally, the Center supports and connects historically underrepresented students and those who are first in their family to attend college in a setting where students’ differences and talents are appreciated and reinforced. The Center is located on the lower level of the Cohon University Center, directly across from the University Bookstore.
The Center team is here to support all members of our community. Request a meeting with a member of the Center team by completing the form below. Once the form is submitted, Center Staff will reach out via the email address or phone number provided to schedule a meeting. Please expect a response between 24-48 business hours. You can also reach us by calling at 412-268-2150 or emailing us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
This page provides strategies for identifying harassment. To view the resource, click Launch on the page. "The EEOC provides a clear definition of sexual harassment: "Unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors, and other verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature constitutes sexual harassment when submission to or rejection of this conduct explicitly or implicitly affects an individual's employment, unreasonably interferes with an individual's work performance, or creates an intimidating, hostile, or offensive work environment.""
"Whether you are a first-time manager or a seasoned expert facing a supervision challenge, we have resources to assist you. Learn more about how to serve as a manager at the university, from legal obligations and compensation practices to developing your leadership skills and advancing CMU's diversity efforts."
Each committee member is responsible for gaining an understanding of how implicit biases can impact their own and others’ evaluations in order to keep the search process fair and inclusive.
1. Before the first committee meeting, it is recommended that all members of search committees either attend implicit bias training or review at least two of the resources on this page.
2. It is recommended that the search committee discuss the implicit bias research and related search committee strategies during the first search committee meeting before reviewing applicants to reinforce these concepts and their implications for the committee’s procedures. Search Committee Chairs are encouraged to contact Courtney Bryant (email@example.com) who can help facilitate these discussions and can suggest additional training resources.
3. Developing ground rules for the committee’s work can be quite helpful to set the tone for following procedures consistent with the implicit bias research.
This resource details the hiring process for Staff at CMU. Considerations of diversity are peppered throughout the document. A keyword search on 'diversity' will help you move through the document and identify relevant sections and tasks.
Recommended by CMU Vice Provost for Faculty office. A GUIDE FOR SEARCH COMMITTEES at the University of Wisconsin–Madison, Second Edition. Two sections deal explicitly with bias: Tips and guidelines: Running an effective and efficient search committee (pp.11–16). Raise Awareness of Unconscious Assumptions and their Influence on Evaluation of Applicants (pp. 43–50).
The job interview is an essential component of the hiring process. While the job interview provides the College with an opportunity to assess whether an applicant will be a good fit, asking the wrong question could result in legal liability. In general, one should avoid any questions that, either directly or indirectly, are likely to elicit information about an applicant’s membership in a protected class.
A free online professional development curriculum. This resource includes 3 sections of online learning modules on multiple topics related to Diversity and Equitable Access including how that relates to collections.
Check out the Collection Analysis Tool on this page. This page also includes a conversation with two experts on challenges diversifying library collections.
Creating an Inclusive Collection—Selecting and Evaluating Diverse Resources
This video is from the Choice Media Channel. "What does an inclusive and diverse collection look like? How can librarians balance core canonical works with a changing college curriculum and the need for new and divergent scholarly voices? Using the Resources for College Libraries (RCL) database as a tool, speakers will present approaches and practical information on how to select, evaluate, and maintain diverse library collections." The video is 1 hour long.
Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion are fundamental values of the American Library Association and its members, and diversity is listed as one of ALA's Key Action Areas. This page includes Key Resources, Standards and Competencies, Major Initiatives, Partnerships, Policies and Ways to Get Involved.
Diversity can be a tough issue for organizations to deal with. Although many companies want to foster diversity, they often encounter barriers and challenges along the way to establishing and developing diversity in the workplace.