CMU LibGuides: Design: Images & Media

Image Databases

AP Images Collection This link opens in a new window
The Associated Press (AP) Images Collection™ captures the greatest events in history and brings them to life through photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text.
Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Over two million high-quality images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. NOTE: Artstor is now in JSTOR
Bridgeman Education This link opens in a new window
Over two million digital images of art, history, and culture from global museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists all copyright cleared for educational use.

Other Image Resources

Not all images in these collections are in the public domain. Check licenses!

Creative Commons Search This link opens in a new window
Provides access to various sites for content you can share, use and remix.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

Internet Archive Book Images This link opens in a new window

Library of Congress Digital Collections
The New York Public Library Digital Collections
Public Domain Image Archive
Out-of-copyright works, free for all to browse, download, and reuse.
Smithsonian Open Access
2.8 million high-resolution 2D and 3D images from across the Smithsonian's collections.

Streaming Media Resources

All Streaming Media Resources available from CMU Libraries.

Academic Video Online (Avon) This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Database Guide. Titles are also available in the Alexander Street Academic Video Online platform.
Docuseek Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides remote access to ~2,400 exclusive documentaries covering a broad spectrum of topics.
Kanopy Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
Provides remote access to over 25,000 documentary and feature films on many subjects: arts, business, global studies, health, sciences, technical training, etc. Please read these changes to the Kanopy Streaming Service. For questions, contact Kim Dolan.
Stan Winston School On Demand Library This link opens in a new window
Stan Winston School is the world's premier online destination for learning the art and technology of character creation from Hollywood's leading artists and technical wizards. Creating compelling characters requires a vast range of skills and techniques, from big-budget cinematic approaches to DIY methods you can practice in your home workshop. With 1000+ hours of on-demand video instruction to choose from, students can subscribe to gain instant, anytime access to our entire course library. We also offer Live Online Courses, providing students with the opportunity to connect with our award-winning faculty in real-time! If you're an artist, creator, or maker who wants to learn from the best, welcome to SWSCA. Imagine, Learn, Create!
Stash Permanent Collection This link opens in a new window
Stash provides streaming access to the planet's largest online video archive of design, animation, and VFX – over 5,000 motion projects – plus behind the scenes features and exclusive interviews.

Media Collection

The Media Collection is located on the second floor of Hunt Library. Sign in to your library account to request media for borrowing or streaming. The Libraries also lends DVD players. To request new video purchases for courses or research, contact the Art & Design Librarian or Lauren Calloway.