CMU LibGuides: Information Systems: Finding Scholarly Research

Google Scholar

Configure your Google Scholar to link directly to full-text library resources.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Academic database covering peer-reviewed journals, book series, and conference proceedings - includes scientific, medical, technical and social science topics, with emphasis on citation analysis. Scival feature requires registration but is free to CMU affiliates.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.

Google Scholar
A free database that is good for finding articles from a wide range of disciplines.

Engineering & Computer Science

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of journal articles, conference proceedings, and reviews published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
AIS eLibrary This link opens in a new window
The Association for Information Systems (AIS) eLibrary is a key resource for scholarly journal and conference publications for the information systems research community. Browse and download content from AIS conference proceedings, journals and affiliated journals.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics from IEEE journals and conference proceedings. Also includes all current IEEE standards.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Full text of articles is available from more than 220 periodicals dating back to 1997. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.
Computing Database This link opens in a new window
Journal articles on database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, intranets and the internet.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Articles in communications, computer science, engineering, environmental science, IT, operations research, physics and robotics.

Business and Economics

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles from industry and scholarly sources, periodicals, reports and dissertations, on business, management, corporate strategy, and the competitive landscape. Database Guide
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic and industry periodicals in all business disciplines. Also industry, company, and country reports.
Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new window
Market reports and analysis on technology aspects of industries. Industries include: aerospace & defense, automotive, chemicals, consumer products, electronics, healthcare, and more. Reports are now available to download as PDFs.

Use of this resource is only for academic research purposes .
Gartner Core Research This link opens in a new window
Analysis and forecasting for information technology products and services. (Note: Dataquest reports are not in our subscription).

Open resources

SSRN Information Systems & eBusiness Network
SSRN is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks. This link will take you directly to the Information Systems and eBusiness Network.

CiteSeerX This link opens in a new window
Free computer science citation database with some full text available. Lists the most frequently cited authors and documents in computer science, as well as impact ratings. Also provides algorithms, metadata, services, techniques, and software.
Computing Research Repository (CoRR) This link opens in a new window
Repository of computer science papers made available through through the partnership of ACM, ArXiv e-print archive, and NCSTRL (Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library).

DBLP Computer Science Bibliography
This service provides open bibliographic information on major computer science journals and proceedings.

Computing Reviews This link opens in a new window
The leading review service for books and articles across all disciplines of computing.

Find White Papers
Stay up to date with technology products and services by browsing the TechRepublic's Resource Library.

Heinz Journal

The Heinz Journal is a graduate student run academic publication which publishes public policy research with a focus on featuring current work from Heinz College students. The Heinz Journal is committed to publishing high quality research that explores important public policy topics and provides evidence based policy recommendations.

Information Systems: Finding Scholarly Research