Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Go beyond Google
Knowledge holds the key to your future.
Read the best news sources
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles from industry and scholarly sources, periodicals, reports and dissertations, on business, management, corporate strategy, and the competitive landscape. Database Guide
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic and industry periodicals in all business disciplines, including the Harvard Business Review; also industry, company, and country reports.
Wall Street Journal (Dow Jones) This link opens in a new window
Articles in major US business newspaper through the WSJ platform
. Content includes 4 years of rolling backfiles. CMU affiliates must create an initial account using your CMU Andrew email address
. Then you can also download the WSJ app and login there for access too. Historical issues through ProQuest (1851-2006) are here
, and Wall Street Journal Online
articles are here
. Fully searchable full page images from 2008 - current (with a 3-month embargo) are here
. Other editions are also available. Type wall street journal
in the Publication Browse
to see options.
LexisNexis Academic (now Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
International database: newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, reports, blogs, case law, government documents, broadcasts, and more. Update: LexisNexis Academic has been replaced with Nexis Uni.
SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 3,000 business cases spanning a wide range of business disciplines from leadership to entrepreneurship, to family business and social impact. The platform provides select access to cases (click "content available to me"), a user-friendly platform, and downloading cases. SAGE has partnered with 20 business case producers, including Kellogg School of Management (Northwestern), Berkeley Haas (California), and the School of Management (Yale).
Discover Company Details
Hoover's (Now D&B Hoovers) This link opens in a new window
includes US and international companies; brief company description, leadership, history, financials, products, etc.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
US and foreign companies, active and inactive. 15 years of financial data, mergers & acquisitions, SEC filings, historical stock prices, and equity reports. Annual reports from 1997.
CB Insights This link opens in a new window
Private companies worldwide with some financials and venture capital/private equity funding information. (NOTE: You must create an account using your CMU email).
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Private companies worldwide with financials and venture funding information, especially tech startups. NOTE: You must create an account using your CMU email. Use of this database is for academic purposes only.
ReferenceUSA (now Data Axle) This link opens in a new window
(choose 2nd database on the right column, and then select "Global Business Browser" option) - covers global firms, with industry overviews, ratios, market research and analyst reports - excellent starting point.
MarketLine (previously Datamonitor) This link opens in a new window
view your company and then see the sections on the left - particularly the SWOT analysis and Financial Deals
Mergent Online Analyst Reports This link opens in a new window
Important reports on companies and industries from Wall Street analysts and many major investment banks. Use the drop down menu to search different fields and use the "add to criteria" button to search more than one field at a time.
Information & Outlooks for Various Occupations
Occupational Outlook Handbook (BLS)
Publication from the BLS that includes data and info on wages, number of jobs, work environment, outlook data, and more on hundreds of occupations!
Not in Pittsburgh?
- For almost all databases, enter your Andrew username and PW when asked. When in doubt, use the VPN.
Find industry background
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry market research reports with analysis, data, conditions, segmentation, market share, primary companies, and outlook in the US, UK, China, US States, and globally.
Industry Wizard Tool: Located under "Expert Tools" allows users to quickly search, query, and save industry ratios, data, and statistics from all IBISWorld reports for benchmarking purposes, strategies, etc. Data is downloadable.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Market, industry, company, and demographic statistics, data-centered reports and dossiers, fully downloadable, various formats, international, easy-to-use.
NOTE: We have trial access to the Global Consumer Survey until November, 11, 2022. To access, select the "Global Survey" tab at the top of the page. This is a great screening tool to get demographic and market research info on a variety of consumer topics!
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Market research reports for industries, specializing in advanced materials, biotechnology, chemicals, energy, healthcare, sensors, plastics, nanotechnology, and other emerging technologies - but with traditional industries as well.
Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new window
Market reports and analysis on technology aspects of industries. Industries include: aerospace & defense, automotive, chemicals, consumer products, electronics, healthcare, and more. Reports are now available to download as PDFs.
MarketLine (previously Datamonitor) This link opens in a new window
international coverage - substantial industry reports on hundreds of specific industries
eMarketer (now Insider Intelligence) This link opens in a new window
New platform includes access to eMarketer content and Business Insider Intelligence content. eMarketer offers data and insights to the digital media consumer market. It focuses on understanding how consumers spend their time and money online and how marketers can best communicate with them via digital channels. Industries covered include automotive, consumer products, financial services, healthcare, telecom and media and entertainment.
Inform yourself about a company's strategy and risk factors
See top analyst reports for public companies on the Mergent Online database, under the "Investext" tab.
Look up the company's latest 10-K (either on the company's website's Investor Relations section, or on the SEC database. Here you'll want to particularly see: "Risk Factors" and "Management's Discussion".
Use ABI/INFORM database and search using keywords, i.e. "Microsoft and strategy".