CMU LibGuides: For Tepper PhD Students: Start here

This Guide

This is a guide to your library's books, databases, and services that support your courses and research.

The library recommends Endnote, Mendeley and Zotero for citation management - see more information here.

In the databases below, you can track citations, find journal impact factors, do literature reviews, etc.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Academic database covering peer-reviewed journals, book series, and conference proceedings - includes scientific, medical, technical and social science topics, with emphasis on citation analysis. Scival feature requires registration but is free to CMU affiliates.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
also has citation tracing features

Sage Business Cases This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 3,000 business cases spanning a wide range of business disciplines from leadership to entrepreneurship, to family business and social impact. The platform provides select access to cases (click "content available to me"), a user-friendly platform, and downloading cases. Sage has partnered with 20 business case producers, including Kellogg School of Management (Northwestern), Berkeley Haas (California), and the School of Management (Yale).

Google Scholar (make sure you register the CMU library)
searches scholarly literature on all topics - if you are on campus or using the VPN, will open anything we subscribe to. (You may need to activate this feature. On Google Scholar, click on 'Settings" at the top - then "Library Links" at the left - then find and select Carnegie Mellon University - then Save.)

ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Mega-database that searches many interdisciplinary databases together - journals, newspapers, magazines; also industry reports.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
historical collections of important academic journals, including those in economics, finance, marketing, operations research, statistics and management
EconLit This link opens in a new window
the primary resource for locating economics articles, books and reports; when full text is not there, use the “Get It” feature to find it. Online version of the Journal of Economic Literature.

National Bureau of Economic Research
working papers and datasets from the nation's leading nonprofit economic research organization
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
early research results through working papers and forthcoming papers in either abstract or full-text format
Research Papers in Economics (REPEC)
international database of working papers, journal articles and software components

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
contains scholarly and professional journals as well as trade and reporting sources.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
covers Psychology and related fields, with relevance for organizational behavior. effectiveness, climate and structure; as well as marketing, working conditions, economics, communication, motivation, etc.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Articles in communications, computer science, engineering, environmental science, IT, operations research, physics and robotics.
INFORMS PubsOnLine This link opens in a new window
provides access to ten journal titles published by INFORMS, the professional association for operations research and management science. Articles come from the fields of engineering, management, mathematics and psychology.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and theses from around the world, from 1861 to the present, with full text for most added since 1997.
Pivot This link opens in a new window
Funding sources for all disciplines and academic needs. Database Guide

For more, see the Business & Econ Datasets page.

For help with data management, contact CMU Research Data Management specialists.

WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) This link opens in a new window
uniform web interface to current and historical datasets in finance, economics and banking, from multiple sources. Some of those are: Standard & Poor’s Compustat, the Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP,) Mergent, Dow Jones, the Federal Reserve, and the Chicago Board of Options Exchange.
World DataBank This link opens in a new window
from the World Bank - datasets for 700+ development indicators, in areas such as finance, communications, the environment, education, labor, health, and economics, for 208 countries and 18 country groups, from 1960 to the present
International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
Includes this and all other databases from the International Monetary fund. Time series data used in economic analysis.

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
datasets and links from the National Bureau of Economic Research, the nation's leading nonprofit economic research organization

ICPSR This link opens in a new window
social science data for research and instruction, including historical time series from International Monetary Fund, World Bank, Census Bureau, Federal Reserve, and many more

U.S. Census Bureau
official US Government site for demographics and business statistics
Consumer Expenditure Survey
official US Government site for demographics and business statistics
Bureau of Labor Statistics
data on employment, wages, productivity, occupations, prices, etc.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
national, international, regional, and industry accounts measures, such as GDP, government expenditures, balance of payments, etc. Federal Reserve Economic Database

Find a book?
Find a specific journal article?
Might be online, in print, or at another institution - here's how to find it easily
Use the databases from off campus?
Will also get you more from Google Scholar.
Get a book or article that is not at CMU?
See what hours we are open?

Contact:

109C Hunt Library
Carnegie Mellon University Libraries
4909 Frew Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15213

(412) 268-2453

Subjects: Business, Careers, CMU Campuses Outside of Pittsburgh, Economics, Management, Reference