Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Drama: Costume: Overview

This guide

New and featured costume resources and costume research basics.
Search Cameo
Reference
Browse the Stacks
Articles and Reviews
Images and Media


Questions...
Mo Dawley,
Art and Drama Librarian
Hunt Library
Art Library and Special Collections
412-268-6625
Drama Research Guide

Send Email

Featured databases

For a more comprehensive database list, go to Databases for Theatre  or see the full list of CMU Libraries databases.

 



ARTstor
High quality images in the arts, architecture, humanities and social sciences; includes A collection of historical and contemporary images from museum collections in the U.S; selected images of The Brooklyn Museum of Art Costume Collection of the Costume Institute of the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

This link opens in a new winLink also to ARTstor's

Fashion and Costume factsheet
Shared Shelf Commons: Historic Dress Rexford Costume Research Archive
Shared Shelf Commons: Motley Collection of Costume and Theatre Design


Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new wi
A unique source covering all aspects of world dress and fashion throughout history; integrated text and image database including the Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, articles, essays, e-books and more.


The complete archives of the US and UK editions of Harper's Bazaar magazine, a fashion, arts, and culture authority from 1867 to the present. Scanned in full color, it features detailed indexing and searchable text.
The complete archives of the US and UK editions of Harper's Bazaar magazine, a fashion, arts, and culture authority from 1867 to the present.

The full contents of Vogue magazine (US edition) from the first issue in 1892 to the present, with monthly updates for new issues.
 
Vogue Italia Archive‎ (1964 - current)
The complete run of Vogue Italia – one of the most influential and renowned international editions of Vogue.

 
Women's Wear Daily Archive‎ (1910-current)
WWD is a unique record of the twentieth century US and international fashion and beauty business. Key moments in the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers are all covered.


News images by Associated Press photographers.  A great way to view contemporary everyday dress.



Life Magazine Archive. Cover to cover from 1926-2000
OR try..
LIFE Photo Archive Hosted by Google
This is an open access version hosted by Google with an interface that might suit better for just image searching. Coverage goes up to the 80s. 
 

Acqs of interest


Ribeiro, Aileen. Clothing Art: The Visual Culture of Fashion, 1600-1914. New Haven: Yale University Press.
HUNT FA-REF-4 N8217. C63 R53 2017

 


Tine, Hal. Essentials of Period Style. Burlington, MA: Focal Press, 2016
HUNT FA-REF-4 PN2091.S8 T575

 


Hill, Coleen. Fairy Tale Fashion: New Haven: Yale University Press; Fashion Institute of Technology.
HUNT OVRSZQ-3 TT507. H495 2016

 

Cover Image
Barrington, Mandy. Stays and Corsets : historical patterns translated for the modern body. Burlington, MA: Focal Press, 2016
HUNT STACKS-3 TT677. B366 2016

 
Cover Image
Dirix, Emmanuelle . Dressing the decades : twentieth-century vintage style. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press.
HUNT STACKS-3 TT507.D57 2016

 

Sinha, Pammi. Remanufactured Fashion. Singapore: Springer, 2016
E-book

Cover Image
Porter, Lynne. Unmasking Theatre Design : a Designer's Guide to Finding Inspiration and Cultivating Creativity
HUNT STACKS-4 PN2053.P67 2015