Newspapers: European Newspapers

The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media, totaling almost 1200 titles.

Full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection.

A digitized collection of over 2,000 predominantly foreign-language newspaper titles ranging in coverage from the late 19th Century to present times. Features stand alone titles and databases aggregating multiple titles from specific regions and time periods with 17 countries and 12 languages represented. This resource is a work in progress that continues to grow each year.

Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Exact dates vary by title, but most ca. late 1990s-present. To limit to Europe or a particular European country, either filter by Geography after the search, or before searching, select Menu, All Sources, Category - News, then narrow by Jurisdiction.

Browsable access to the full-color print layout of newspapers and magazines from around the world, including current and back issues of a few months (depends on title).

1785-1985.
Search and display the full text of the Times (London). You can limit your search to certain years, and/or certain sections of the newspaper.