Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What to Know if We Have a Particular Newspaper?
It's simple, just go to Journals & Newspapers, type in the title of the newspaper and press return! If we have access to it via a database, the database name and dates of coverage will be listed.
Other libraries may have copies of other newspapers. You can use either search Worldcat or the Center for Research Libraries' (CRL) catalog to see what might be available. CRL has more than 10,000 titles from most countries of the world and every state in the U.S., including over 1,800 U.S. ethnic titles.
Ethnic Newspapers (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Search and display articles from ethnic newspapers culled from the Access World News database from NewsBank. Exact dates vary by title, but most ca. 2000 - present.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Exact dates vary by publication. Includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
1808-1980. Exact dates vary by publication. The single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English.
Historical Newspapers: American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857 - 1922) This link opens in a new window
The American Hebrew was a weekly Jewish newspaper published in New York City. In 1903 it merged with the Jewish Messenger. The paper covered many topics of Jewish interest internationally. Many prominent Jewish writers and communal workers in the United States have been contributors to its pages.
Historical Newspapers: American Israelite (1854 - 2000) This link opens in a new window
Longest-running English-language Jewish newspaper still published in the United States. The newspaper's two goals were to spread the principles of Reform Judaism, and to keep American Jews in touch with Jewish affairs and their religious identity.
Historical Newspapers: Jewish Advocate (1905 - 1990) This link opens in a new window
A primary source of news and information as well as a forum for discussion and debate, providing lines of communication uniting the community and supporting the efforts aimed at reinvigorating and broadening Jewish religious and cultural life.
Historical Newspapers: Jewish Exponent (1887 - 1990) This link opens in a new window
Has carried news of developments in Israel, efforts to rescue Jews the world over from repressive regimes, and the ever-expanding role of Jews in American public life. Along the way, it has garnered honors each year from the American Jewish Press Association for excellence in Jewish journalism for its news, features, reviews and commentary.
Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project This link opens in a new window
1895-present. Full text newspapers: The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present).
Proquest US Hispanic Newsstream
ca. 1998-present. Exact dates vary by publication. largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from US publishers in both Spanish and English including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La Opinión (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and Extra (Chicago).