Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What to Know if We Have a Particular Newspaper?
It's simple, just go to Journals & Newspapers, type in the title of the newspaper and press return! If we have access to it via a database, the database name and dates of coverage will be listed.
Latin American Newspapers
Global Press Archive
A digitized collection of over 2,000 predominantly foreign-language newspaper titles ranging in coverage from the late 19th Century to present times. Features stand alone titles and databases aggregating multiple titles from specific regions and time periods with 17 countries and 12 languages represented. This resource is a work in progress that continues to grow each year.
Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press
Showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Exact dates vary by title, but most ca. late 1990s-present. To limit to Latin America, either filter by Geography after the search, or before searching, select Menu, All Sources, Category - News, then narrow by Jurisdiction.
Browsable access to the full-color print layout of newspapers and magazines from around the world, including current and back issues of a few months (depends on title).
Proquest Latin American Newsstream
ca. 1998-present. Includes titles from Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Costa Rica, Peru, Uruguay, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guatemala, Puerto Rico, and Venezuela. Latin American Newsstream provides newspapers in Spanish and Portuguese. Key newspaper titles include: El Universal (Mexico City);O Globo (Brazil);La Nación (Argentina);and El Mercurio (Chile).