CMU LibGuides: CMU Australia: Data and Statistics

Google Dataset Search

Try Google's dataset search. Search the web for datasets on any topic.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research

The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR ) is an organization made up of member institutions with the aim of aquiring, perserving and making available social science data. ICPSR archives data collections in sociology, political science, history, and economics. ICPSR has seven special areas of emphasis in gerontology, substance abuse and mental health, criminal justice, child care, health and medical care, education, and demography.

As CMU faculty, student or staff, you have access to ICPSR's rich collection of data resources, as well as teaching materials to assist in teaching with data. Membership also provides discounts on a wealth of training and learning opportunities offered by ICPSR.

For more information about ICPSR, visit this ICPSR research guide.

Commercial data aggregators

The library offers access to a number of commercial products that aim to facilitate the discovery and use of data from public and private sources.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Market, industry, company, and demographic statistics, data-centered reports and dossiers, fully downloadable, various formats, international, easy-to-use.

Includes access to the Consumer Insights (formerly Global Consumer Survey, a resource that offers global consumption and media usage data of consumers. A great market research tool for consumer behavior and interactions with brands. Select the Insights > Explore Consumer Insights within Statista.
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary datasets with mapping, graphing, and report-generating capability. Includes tons of datasets for business, industry, labor, energy, population, income, health, politics, and more.
Data Citation Index This link opens in a new window
On the Web of Science (WoS), this provides a single point of access to quality research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world. Access an array of data across subjects and regions, providing a comprehensive picture of research output to understand data in context and maximize research efforts. Find the Data Citation Index database on the WoS homepage from the top dropdown menu next to Search.

ProQuest Statistical Insight
is a multi-disciplinary statistics database that indexes statistical data from U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and international organizations from 1983.

Sage Stats This link opens in a new window
Features data series created from more than 50,000 government and non-government datasets, covering popular topics of research interest for U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan areas. Database has been retired and statistics are now incorporated into the DataPlanet database. Link redirects there.
eMarketer (now Insider Intelligence) This link opens in a new window
New platform includes access to eMarketer content and Business Insider Intelligence content. eMarketer offers data and insights to the digital media consumer market. It focuses on understanding how consumers spend their time and money online and how marketers can best communicate with them via digital channels. Industries covered include automotive, consumer products, financial services, healthcare, telecom and media and entertainment.

Business and Economic Data

We have many databases and resources for doing research about business, companies, industries and markets. Here are links to guides for these research areas to get you more quickly to the most appropriate resource:

Market Research: Investigate a market, competition and business environment
Company Research: Find information and data about companies in various sectors
Industry Research: Find market size, industry leaders, statistics, current status, future trends, etc. of various industries
Finance: For information on finance, banking, investments and more.

Training and Skill-building

Linked In Learning (formerly Lynda.com)
Linked In Learning is a continually growing and evolving library of training videos and tutorials covering a wide range of software, technologies and business topics. Carnegie Mellon students, faculty and staff members can take advantage of free 24/7 access to the entire library of training.

Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Helps design research projects, identify methods, conduct research, and write up findings. Basic source for research methods in all fields.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Thousands of best-selling, top-rated IT, computing, technology and business books by leading authors. Database Guide

Geospatial Resources

MTSOfan Flickr via Compfight cc

For more about geospatial data, visit the Spatial Data research guide.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Visual and numerical presentation of U.S. census data and a wide range of demographic information, 1790 – present. Creates maps and reports at levels from national to block group.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
A U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications. Useful for social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Includes thousands of U.S. data indicators for demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level.