Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can search for academic/peer-reviewed/scholarly articles on film in both general and subject-specific databases. If you're off campus, log in through the WebVPN (get directions here). If the full-text of the article isn't included in the database you're searching, click on the icon to look for it online in another database or collection.
Some good starting points
These databases may be relevant to researchers of ethnic and gender issues. These databases contain full-text and/or citations for a variety of journals and are good starting points:
- America History & Life
contains citations and some abstracts to journal articles, dissertations, and book and media reviews on United States and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. It covers all historical topics and a variety of disciplines including popular culture, ethnic & gender studies, anthropology, literature and folklore, etc.
- CQ Press Electronic Library
CQ Library is an excellent resource for nonpartisan news and analysis of public affairs. It provides full-text web access to Congressional Quarterly's premiere publications:
* CQ Weekly includes legislative news and analysis since 1983
* CQ Researcher (archive back to 1923) provides original, comprehensive reporting on issues, along with tools to study how issues have changed over time
* CQ Almanac renowned for in-depth analysis of U.S. Congressional legislation
- Electronic Collections Online (ECO - from OCLC/First Search)
provides citation and full-text access to academic journals in many disciplines. Can limit search to language and literature journals via the pull-down menu.
- MLA International Bibliography
Coverage includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing.
Works on literature that is transmitted orally, in print, or in audiovisual media and on human language, including both natural languages and invented languages (e.g., Esperanto, computer-programming languages), are listed. Works on subjects such as aesthetics, human behavior, communication, and information processes are included only if they treat human language or literature. There are no historical-period restrictions on language coverage. Works exclusively on classical Greek and Latin literatures, the Bible, or the Koran are excluded except as they relate to other literature or language topics within the scope of the bibliography. Works on the teaching of language, literature, and rhetoric and composition at the college level are listed. Works solely on secondary school teaching are excluded unless they contain significant discussion of postsecondary teaching.
- Wilson Web
contains the full text of the articles from various biographical reference books published by H. W. Wilson in current affairs, history, literature, children's literature, music, film, and art. The biographies are enhanced with recent citations from H.W. Wilson's Biography Index and with citations and abstracts from H.W. Wilson's Humanities Abstracts and Book Review Digest (Current Biography does not contain the citations and abstracts from Humanities Abstracts and Book Review Digest).
These databases contain primary documents and tend to be more specialized:
- Defining Gender (1450-1910)
provides access to primary sources for the study and analysis of gender that focuses on 15th to early 20th century and covers 5 major themes: Conduct and Politness, Domesticity and Family, Consumption and Leisure, Education and Sensibility, and the Body. It contains images, ephemera, pamphlets, college records and exam papers, books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, account books, education practice and pedagogy, government papers, illustrated writings on anatomy, and much more...
- Ethnic NewsWatch
is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. A rich collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provide a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints -- the other sides of the stories. Contents include African American, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian American, European, Jewish, and Native American publications, including the Spanish-language press.
Ethnic News Watch: History Europa World and Ethnic NewsWatch: History are both components of EthnicNewsWatch
is a full-text database containing 140 international publications plus reports, pamphlets, papers and conference proceedings devoted to women and gender issues. The database contains archival material, in some cases back as far as the 1970's, with additional archival material continually added, making this the repository of an important historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles and understandings over the last 15 to 20 years.
- Literature Resource Center
provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. The Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Our licence allows only one user at a time. Be sure to log-out when you are done.
- Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
consists of works about the North, Central & South America, the Arctic & Antarctica and the West Indies, published not only in the United States but internationally. This resource offers original accounts of exploration, pioneering, settlement, the western movement, military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition. It also covers such topics as American women, cities and states, the Civil War, immigration and politics, etc.
- Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online
The most comprehensive archive of social memory yet created, Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online allows students, scholars, and online researchers to experience the past through thousands of private writings and personal narratives. The resource is a unique forum that brings together the voices of ordinary men and women from all walks of life with the personal accounts of well-known historical figures.
The resource is a unique forum that brings together the voices of ordinary men and women from all walks of life with the personal accounts of well-known historical figures. In their own words, people from diverse ethnic and social groups bring vividly to life hundreds of years of history through their perspectives on life, love, faith, politics, business, and countless personal events.
- The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project is composed of The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present). This project serves as both an online reference source and as a digitized historical documentation of the Jewish community of Pittsburgh and its outlying areas.