Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources on Ethnicity & Gender: Websites

This guide provides information on available resources at Carnegie Mellon University Libraries for researchers in the areas of ethnic and/or gender studies (including LGBT).

English Literature on the Web

Feminism/Women's Studies

  • Eserver - Feminism
    http://feminism.eserver.org/
    E-server started by members at Carnegie Mellon University and is now hosted at ISU. It contains a wealth of information on 44 topics, including feminism.
  • Feminist.com
    http://www.feminist.com/
    Feminist.com is a grassroots, interactive community by, for and about women. Check out it's resources section for articles and more.
  • Feminist Theory
    http://bailiwick.lib.uiowa.edu/wstudies/theory.html
    A directory of feminist links compiled by the University of Iowa.
  • The Feminist Theory website
    http://www.cddc.vt.edu/feminism/
    Provides research materials and information for students, activists, and scholars interested in Women's conditions and struggles around the world. Links to over 5,000 bibliographical entries and 600 links to internet websites.
  • Feminist Majority Foundation
    http://www.feminist.org/
    The Feminist Majority Foundation (FMF), which was founded in 1987, is a cutting edge organization dedicated to women's equality, reproductive health, and non-violence. In all spheres, FMF utilizes research and action to empower women economically, socially, and politically. It is a great source for current awareness.
  • Jewish Women's Archive
    http://jwa.org/
    "The mission of the Jewish Women's Archive (JWA) is to uncover, chronicle, and transmit to a broad public the history of American Jewish women."
  • Literary Resources- Feminism and Women's Literature
    A web portal of resources on women's literature, feminist criticism and gender studies.
  • United Nations Inter-agency Network On Women and Gender Equality
    http://www.un.org/womenwatch
    Women Watch is the central gateway to information and resources on the promotion of gender and equality and the empowerment of women throughout the United Nations system.
  • Women's Studies: A guide to the collections of the New York Public Library
    http://legacy.www.nypl.org/research/chss/grd/resguides/women/index.html
    "The collection consists of vast retrospective holdings relating to women, including manuscripts and archival material, as well as a broad range of current Women's Studies trends and thought on feminism theory and scholarship.
  • Women's Studies Database
    The University of Maryland women's studies website, begun in 1992, serves those people interested in the women's studies profession and in general women's issues.
  • Women's Studies Librarian's Office
    http://womenst.library.wisc.edu/
    A web portal that provides links to resources dealing with women's studies topics.

 

LGBTQ

  • GLBTQ.com - An encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender & Queer Culture
    http://www.glbtq.com/
    The encyclpedia contains information on LGBQT aspects relevant to Arts, Literature, and Social Sciences. Each of these areas has an alphabetical and topical indexes to aid navigation and research.
  • Lambda Archives
    http://www.lambdaarchives.org/
    Lambda Archives preserves and makes available the tangible record of the community including the personal documentation of individuals who have lived, worked and been active members of our communities, and the organizational records of business, community and service groups that have served our needs and interests. The collection includes ephemera, letters, digital materials, and more.
  • LGBT Addiction Treatment
        http://www.projectknow.com/research/gay-lesbian-bisexual-transgender-rehab/
ProjectKnow.com aims to inform parents and family members of those struggling with addiction, as well as addicts and alcoholics themselves,about the options available for treating addiction.
 
Drugrehab.com/guides/lgbtq/ - a good reference on LGBTQ addiction
 
  • LGBT Rights (an ACLU project)
    http://www.aclu.org/lgbt-rights
    This website provides access to news and case studies related to LGBTQ issues that relate to civil liberty.
  • ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archive
    http://www.onearchives.org/
    The ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives (affiliated with but not governed by the University of Southern California) houses the world's largest research library on Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgendered heritage and concerns.
  • Queer Theory
    http://www.queertheory.com/default.htm
    QueerTheory.com provides you with the best online resources integrated with the best visual and textual resources in Queer Culture, Queer Theory, Queer Studies, Gender Studies and related fields.
 
LGBTQ Organizations

 

Masculinity Studies

  • American Men's Studies Organization
    http://mensstudies.org/
    - a not-for-profit professional organization of scholars, therapists, and others interested in the exploration of masculinity in modern society.
  • Men Can Stop Rape
    http://www.mencanstoprape.org/info-url2699/info-url.htm
    Since its inception in 1997, MCSR has led the call to redefine masculinity and male strength as part of preventing men’s violence against women. This organization's newsletter (Masculinity in the Media) is a great source of information on representation.
  • Men's Health Network
    http://www.menshealthnetwork.org/
    - a non-profit educational organization made up of physicians, researchers, public health workers, individuals and other health professionals which was founded to improve the health and well-being of men, boys and families.
  • The Men's Bibliography
    http://mensbiblio.xyonline.net/
    The Men’s Bibliography – a comprehensive bibliography of writings on men, gender, sexuality.
  • Radical Masculinity
    http://radicalmasculinity.blogspot.com/
    A blog for the discussion of the issues of masculine-identified folk, regardless of their gender or sex. An explicitly feminist, anti-oppression, sex positive space that aims to be a safe space for all people who are oppressed by the dominant isms of the day.
  • Society for Psycholgoical Study of Men and Masculinity
    http://www.apa.org/divisions/div51/
    - promotes the critical study of how gender shapes and constricts men's lives, and is committed to an enhancement of men's capacity to experience their full human potential.
  • XY Online
    http://www.xyonline.net/
    XY is a website focused on men, masculinities, and gender politics. XY is a space for the exploration of issues of gender and sexuality, the daily issues of men’s and women’s lives, and practical discussion of personal and social change.

 

Race & Ethnicity

  • American Identities
    http://xroads.virginia.edu/~yp/ethnic.html
    A compilation of Internet resources from various cultural, ethnic, and racial groups in the United States.
  • Center for World Indigenous Studies
    http://cwis.org
    An independent, non-profit research and education organization dedicated to wider understanding and appreciation for ideas and knowledge of indigenous peoples.
  • Eserver - Race & Ethnicity
    http://race.eserver.org/
    E-server started members at Carnegie Mellon University and is now hosted at ISU. It contains a wealth of information on 44 topics, including race and ethnicity.
  • H-ETHNIC
    http://www.h-net.org
    A collection of resources on such topics as terminology, political issues, identity issues, and ethnicity in history.
  • National Association of Ethnic Studies
    http://www.ethnicstudies.org/
    An organization that provides an interdisciplinary forum for scholars and activists concerned with ethnicity.
  • RACE-POL (APSA)
    http://www.apsanet.org/~rep/listserv.htm
    RACE POL is a discussion list sponsored by the Section on Race, Ethnicity and Politics of the American Political Science Association. The list exists to facilitate communication among political scientists and other scholars who share an interest in race, ethnicity and political power.
  • Urban Institute
    http://www.urban.org
    A website that gathers data, conducts research, evaluates programs, offers technical assistance overseas and educates American on social and economic issues dealing with race.
  • USA.gov
    http://usa.gov
    A government web portal that provides access to several websites and services for ethnic studies including the National Archives.
  • Jewish Women's Literature
    http://jwa.org/
    "The mission of the Jewish Women's Archive (JWA) is to uncover, chronicle, and transmit to a broad public the history of American Jewish women."

 

Statistics

  • UN Statistics Division
    http://unstats.un.org/unsd/demographic/products/indwm/
    The UN produces a large number of data related to population, family, health, work and politics, and gender. Search for "Gender Info" to access their database, but also use "Gender" or "ethnicity" to access articles and other reports related to these topics.
  • GenderStats
    This WorldBank Group product also includes a wealth of statistics on gender.
  • Women Stats Project
    http://www.womanstats.org/index.htm
    This is one of the most comprehensive sets of data on women worldwide. The project facilitates understanding the linkage between the situation of women and the security of nation-states. Data includes 260 indicators in 174 countries.
  • Suicide.org
    http://www.suicide.org/suicide-statistics.html
    Data are broken down by gender, ethnicity, and age.