Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources on Ethnicity & Gender: Background Information

This guide provides information on available resources at Carnegie Mellon University Libraries for researchers in the areas of ethnic and/or gender studies (including LGBT).

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other general works.

Below is a select list of general works: 

  • Dictionary of race, ethnicity, and culture (Online)
  • Encyclopedia of women and gender (Hunt Library - Call Number HQ1115 .E52)
  • Encyclopedia of race and racism (Hunt Library - Call Number E184 .A1 E584)
  • Encyclopedia Latina (Hunt Library - Call Number E184 .S75 E587)
  • Encyclopedia of race and ethnic studies (Hunt Library - Call Number GN495.6 .C37)
  • Ethnic groups worldwide (Hunt Library - Call Number GN352 .L46)
  • Handbook of gender and women studies (Hunt Library - Call Number HQ1180 .H355)

 


Tips:  For additional titles search Carnegie Mellon University Libraries' online catalog (CAMEO) using "encyclopedias", "dictionaries", or "handbooks" as a subject or keyword


In addition, many of these works are indexed in online collections and are often available in full-text.  They are good for those who wish to explore resources or for finding additional information sources: