Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SAGE Campus This link opens in a new window
SAGE Campus provides access to a growing collection of online courses on introductory skills and research methods including critical thinking, data literacy, research design, R and Python, statistical methods and more. NOTE: You must create an account by clicking on the "Register" link in the upper right-hand corner using your CMU email address. If you are an instructor, please contact Sarah Young to upgrade your account in order to manage student cohorts.
ProQuest TDM Studio This link opens in a new window
A web-based text mining platform that allows you to access and analyze large amounts of text data. Using content retrieved from ProQuest database, you can build your corpus and conduct data analysis, text mining, and visualization using your preferred methods to uncover relationships, patterns, and connections within and between datasets while collaborating with colleagues in real-time on one platform. To access a workbench, you must submit a request.To find information on how to do this, visit this guide.
Western Pennsylvania Regional Data Center This link opens in a new window
Open data portal of the City of Pittsburgh and Allegheny county, providing free access to regional datasets on a wide range of topics.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Reports and data on international economics, energy, development, education, environment, employment, patents, R&D, finance, agriculture, industry, science, social expenditures, trade, transportation, etc. from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development.
World DataBank This link opens in a new window
World Bank datasets for development indicators for all countries in finance, communications, environment, education, labor, health, and economics, current and historical.
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
A data archive of datasets related to social and political research, made available through the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research at the University of Michigan. CMU affiliates have access to member-only data. To create an account, click Log In from the home page and then Create Account. Note that you must be in the CMU IP range when creating an account
(either on campus, or using the Full VPN
). Once an account is created, you can access the resource from any location using the link above.
Pew Research Center
Datasets covering a wide variety of topics related to the use of the Internet and technology.
Roper Center Public Opinion Archives (with iPOLL) This link opens in a new window
Archive of social sciences data. Data primarily from survey of public opinion. NOTE: Register for a free account with your CMU email address for full access to Roper iPoll content.
SAGE Stats This link opens in a new window
Features data series created from more than 50,000 government and non-government datasets, covering popular topics of research interest for U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan areas. Database has been retired and statistics are now incorporated into the DataPlanet database. Link redirects there.
Demographics & Consumer Data
Statista This link opens in a new window
Market, industry, company, and demographic statistics, data-centered reports and dossiers, fully downloadable, various formats, international, easy-to-use.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
A U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications. Useful for social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Includes thousands of U.S. data indicators for demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level.
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Thousands of statistical publications on all topics. Recent data is available here; earlier data is on microfiche in Hunt Library. Database Guide