Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Databases by Subject
Theses and Dissertations
Dissertations and Theses Global
Dissertations and theses from around the world, from 1861 to the present, with full text for most added since 1997.
KiltHub (Carnegie Mellon)
Provided by the University Libraries, KiltHub is the comprehensive institutional repository and research collaboration platform for research data and scholarly outputs produced by members of Carnegie Mellon University and their collaborators.
Sustainability Research Databases
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and includes specialized, editorially-curated resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.
Environmental Engineering Abstracts
Provides citations and abstracts to articles on air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production.
Environmental Impact Statements: Digests
Access to the hundreds of environmental impact statements issued each year by the federal government. Entries include a clear description of the project, sections on positive impact and negative consequences and legal mandates.
Environmental Issues Online
Environmental Issues Online brings together multimedia materials (text, archival primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more.
GlobalData Power (formerly Alternative Energy eTrack)
Covers the alternate/renewable energy industries : wind, hydro, solar, ocean, geothermal, biofuels, fuel cells, nuclear, carbon trading, etc. Includes news, deals, analysis, forecasts, and more. NOTE: Click on the "If you have IP access click here" link.
Materials Business File
Articles on industry news, product and process developments, plant development, trade, regulations, and management issues.
Sustainability Science Abstracts
Explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management.
Architecture Research Databases
Art & Architecture Source
Full text journal articles with international coverage, books, image collection and more with a focus on the visual arts and architecture.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture and related fields.
Provides comprehensive content on sustainable design practices and green building materials. Shares expertise and lessons learned from design experts working in the field. Builds context for sustainable design strategies and what makes a building product or material green.
Interdisciplinary Research Databases
Articles in communications, computer science, engineering, environmental science, IT, operations research, physics and robotics.
Academic database covering peer-reviewed journals, book series, and conference proceedings - includes scientific, medical, technical and social science topics, with emphasis on citation analysis. Scival feature requires registration but is free to CMU affiliates.
Essential journals, books, and reference works in many fields, primarily science, technology, mathematics, social science, psychology and business.
Web of Science
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.