Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What if I Just Want to Find a Particular Journal?
Use Our e-Journals A-Z List to Locate a Journal Hidden in a Fulltext Database
This automated list can point the user to the full text of articles while they're in a database with the "GET IT" button. The list keeps track of electronic journals even if the full text is buried in a general literature database like ProQuest or LexisNexis.
Don't Forget the Reference Librarian
If at any time you want us to double check to see if we have access to a particular journal, please don't hesitate to ask.
Databases where you'll find journal articles:
- AIP Conference Proceedings (Carnegie Mellon only) - all of the conference papers of the American Institute of Physics conference proceedings can be searched and retrieved from this database.
- ARIBIB - ARI (Astronomisches Rechen-Institut) Bibliographic Database for Astronomical References.
- arXiv.org (eprints) - article preprints in electronic format from all areas of physics; the arXiv is broadening to include mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics.
- Astrophysics Data System (Smithsonian/NASA) - known chiefly as a bibliographic database with links to fulltext articles in astronomy and astrophysics, this database also describes other areas of physics and is linked to the arXiv.
- Google Scholar - free index of a broad swath of scholarly literature with many links to fulltext; very up-to-date indexing, but somewhat lacking in what one can do with search output.
- INSPEC (Carnegie Mellon only) - database of abstracts of literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, and computer science; provides many links to fulltext and includes some literature analysis tools.
- INSPIRE (high energy physics eprints, formerly SPIRES) - the first 'killer app' of the World Wide Web, this database provides access to articles and papers in the area of high energy physics.
- Scitation - fulltext database of physics, chemistry, geosciences and engineering articles from a number of scholarly societies.
- SCOPUS - multidisciplinary abstract database with a better emphasis on conference proceedings than Web of Science; provides citation searching and many literature analysis tools; doesn't reach back in time as far as Web of Science.
- Web of Science (journal articles, cited reference searching) - database of abstracts of the articles of many important journals with many items linked to the fulltext; provides citation searching and many literature analysis tools.
- 19th Century Masterfile - This resource includes a search of the Catalogue of Scientific Publications of the Royal Society. There are convenient links to a surprising amount of full text.
- 18th Century Collections Online - This resource includes a significant amount of science, technology and medical literature. Again, the amount of full text available is surprising.