Articles - English: Program - Rhetoric - CMU LibGuides at Carnegie Mellon University

Start Here

IMPORTANT NOTE: IP authentication required

Rhetoric is interdisciplinary, so you must consider your research matter, but the following are good starting points:

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles and has extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences and includes journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Database Guide
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, international, full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works.

Specialized Sources

IMPORTANT NOTE: IP authentication required

The following databases are interdisciplinary as well, but tend to index scholarly journals that provide more indepth treatment of topics, or are known for extensive collections of primary sources such as news papers and government documents.

CQ Press Electronic Library
If you are interested in textuality, this is an excellent resource for nonpartisan news and analysis of public affairs. It provides full-text web access to Congressional Quarterly's premiere publications, the CQ Weekly, CQ Researcher, and CQ Almanac.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This is particularly important for historic research because it provides access to provides access to back-files of important academic journals.

Project MUSE
provides access to university press journals in humanities, social sciences, mathematics.
Web of Science
is a multidisciplinary database, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities. Users may choose to search across all the databases, or select just one. This unique database indexes and links cited references for each article. All formats provide complete bibliographic data and additional features, such as cited reference searching, links to related articles, plus author and publisher addresses.

Finding More Journals

IMPORTANT NOTE: IP authentication required

Here are some major titles (print and online):

Bryn Mawr Classical Review

CWRL: The Electronic Journal for Computer Writing, Rhetoric and Literature

JAC: A Journal of Composition Theory

Philosophy & Rhetoric (print - alphabetically shelved at Hunt Library, 3rd floor)

Rhetnet: A Cyberjournal for Rhetoric and Writing

Rhetoric review (print - alphabetically shelved at Hunt Library, 3rd floor)

Rhetoric Society quarterly (print - alphabetically shelved at Hunt Library, 3rd floor)

If you know the title of the journal, then you can search to see if it is available online and if the article is also available. Online journals vary in availability, so be sure to check listed dates.

In addition, you can get a list of e-journals by catagory. You'll find Linguistics, Philsophy, Society and Culture, etc. under "Art and Humanities". Be sure to also look at "Social Sciences, where you'll find catagories such as Gender Studies, Political Science, and Sociology.

Begin here:

English: Program - Rhetoric: Articles

Start Here

Specialized Sources

Finding More Journals