CMU LibGuides: Business/Heinz: 45-941/94-814: Evidence-Based Management: Start

What this guide is for:

Using the appropriate research findings to inform management decisions is one of the pillars of Evidence-Based Management. This is a guide to how to find them. It also provides some information on Evidence-Based Management itself.

Library Services - How Do I:

Citing your sources

The Citation Machine
will automatically turn your citation into any of 4 different style formats
The Purdue OWL
Easy-to-find details on citation formats.

Zotero

Zotero is a popular free open source citation management tool that makes saving and citing online resources, including websites, YouTube videos, news articles, and scholarly database results, a breeze. Some of Zotero's strengths include its ability to capture a multitude of resource types with the click of a button, and its group library function, with no limit on group membership. For more about Zotero, see this guide.

Evidence-Based Management defined

"Evidence-based management is about making decisions through the conscientious, explicit, and judicious use of four sources of information:

practitioner expertise and judgment
evidence from the local context
a critical evaluation of the best available research evidence
the perspectives of those people who might be affected by the decision"

Source: Briner, R. B., Denyer, D., & Rousseau, D. M. (2009). Evidence-Based Management: Concept Cleanup Time? Academy of Management Perspectives, 23, 19-32.

Evidence hierarchy

Best	Meta-analyses of research studies
	Systematic reviews of research articles
Good	Longitudinal field studies
	Randomized controlled interventions
	Multiple quasi-experimental/cross-sectional studies
	Controlled case comparisons
Depends	Case studies/descriptive research
Not	Expert opinion
	Non-expert opinion
	Standard/popular practices

Source: Rousseau, D., Course syllabus for Evidence-Based Management - 45-961,Tepper School of Business, Fall 2010

How to get journal articles when you know the citation

e-Journals
use this to see what journals we have electronically. This looks at all our electronic databases and subscriptions and finds where a particular title is held. Be sure you check the dates listed. Sometimes there are a few options - and very occasionally one of them doesn't work - so do try the others in that case.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
here you can search for an article by title (as well as for academic articles on any subject.) If the content is included any of our subscriptions - and sometimes if it isn't - you can get the full text (if this isn't happening, see "i" above for More Info.). Hint: try all clickable phrases in a citation before you give up. (You do need to be on campus or using the VPN for this to work.) You may need to activate this feature. On Google Scholar, click on 'Settings" at the top - then "Library Links" at the left - then find and select Carnegie Mellon University - then Save.

Library Catalog
our catalog: use this to see what journals we have in print. This often includes early issues of journals that in later years we picked up electronic subscriptions to. Also, sometimes electronic access is for some reason unavailable to us. The catalog also contains some links to electronic journals, but is not as complete as eJournals A-Z.
Interlibrary Loan
if we don't have the book or article that you need, we'll get it for you. Use ILLiad for journal requests. This usually takes only a few days; articles will be sent to you via email.
University of Pittsburgh
If you're in a hurry, there is a chance that Pitt has a subscription, in which case you can get access by going over to Hillman Library and getting a password to their computers with your CMU ID. Here is where you can check to see their holdings.

LibKey Nomad

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that facilitates access to the Libraries' full text resources as you find research on the web. LibKey Nomad provides one-click access to full text from websites like PubMed, Wikipedia and publisher pages. Install the plug-in for Chrome, Firefox, Microsoft Edge, or other browsers by going to this LibKey Nomad download page and choosing Carnegie Mellon University as your institution when prompted.

Business & Economics Librarian

Ryan Splenda

Contact:

109C Hunt Library
Carnegie Mellon University Libraries
4909 Frew Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15213

(412) 268-2453

Subjects: Business, Careers, CMU Campuses Outside of Pittsburgh, Economics, Management, Reference

Social Sciences Librarian

Sarah Young

she/her

Contact:

Hunt Library, Rm 109G

412-268-7384

Subjects: Information Systems, Law & Legal, Political Science, Public Policy, Reference, Statistics

Thanks

to Adam Williams author of the Social Work: Evidence-Based Practice libguide for inspiration