CMU LibGuides: Business/Heinz: 45-941/94-814: Evidence-Based Management: FIND SCHOLARLY ARTICLES HERE

Management literature - Scholarly Google search

is Google's database of scholarly research, containing articles, theses, books, and unpublished papers from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. To get access to our subscriptions, go to "Settings, (at the top)" then "Library Links" (at left) - enter Carnegie Mellon in the search box, check the box appearing below, and Save.

Research from Associations, Organizations

Academy of Management
leading professional association for scholars dedicated to creating and disseminating knowledge about management and organizations.

INFORMS PubsOnLine This link opens in a new window
provides access to ten journals published by INFORMS, the professional association for operations research and management science. Articles come from the fields of engineering, management, mathematics and psychology.
Conference Board This link opens in a new window
Research reports on issues in business management and U.S. and global economics. NOTE: we do not have access to all reports in this databases (ex. Economics reports).

Management literature - articles in databases

Research databases are commercial repositories for thousands of journal articles, requiring a subscription for access. Below are the primary databases for management research. Google Scholar (box to the left) searches most of their contents but not all, and doesn't offer the same searching capabilities.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles from industry and scholarly sources, periodicals, reports and dissertations, on business, management, corporate strategy, and the competitive landscape. Database Guide
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic and industry periodicals in all business disciplines. Also industry, company, and country reports.
Emerald Management Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Academic research about a variety of topics with particular focus in business and management issues. Contents include journals, books and case studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles in important academic journals from all disciplines (latest few years not available); also eBooks from leading academic publishers, as well as some images.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
1887-present. American Psychological Association's renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, it is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Database Guide. Also see definitions of methodologies.

PubMed
Scholarly biomedical literature - basic research tool for the health sciences - can include the organizational or marketing perspective

Management literature - books

Management books are easy to find - in the library catalog, on Amazon, in Worldcat - but harder than articles to classify as definitively evidence-based. Clues would be: are they published by a scholarly publisher or university press? Has the author published other evidence-based articles?

New ways of finding research

Nowadays, there are additional tools for research discovery that make use of machine learning, artificial intelligence and knowledge graphs (e.g. networks of research papers based on citations). These can be a nice supplement to traditional keyword searching in databases. Often they require a 'seed article', a starting article relevant to your research that you may have found in a database. Here are a few such tools:

Keenious This link opens in a new window
Keenious is a resource recommender tool designed to aid in the identification and discovery of scholarly research. It analyzes writing from text documents and PDFs to recommend the most relevant articles and topics to explore using artificial intelligence combined with conventional search algorithms. For more information, visit this guide.
scite This link opens in a new window
Scite is an AI-enhanced research support platform for discovering and evaluating scientific articles. It allows users to see how publications have been cited, by providing the context of the citation and classifying whether it provides supporting or contrasting evidence. The AI Assistant utilizes ChatGPT functionality with reference check processes. Additional features includes features such as: notifications, custom dashboards, funding analyses, and reference checks.

NOTE: During initial registration, please use your CMU email address to access your free account.

Inciteful.xyz
Input one or more seed articles, and this tools will find related articles based on citations and topic similarity. You can build a list of relevant articles as you make your way through the citation networks and lists provided.

Management literature - major journals

Will connect if you are on campus or using the VPN

Management literature - handbooks

Scholarly "handbooks" collect literature reviews, seminal research, or new approaches - they usually deal with a specific topics.

Emerald Management Research Collection This link opens in a new window