Print resources
*New York Theatre Critics' Reviews
HUNT FA-REF PN2000 .N76, 1940-1995 (Look for the red binders directly behing the Arts Reference Desk.)
Facsimiles of newspaper reviews.
Sometimes provides detailed information about the production.
*New York Times Theatre Reviews
HUNT FA-REF PN2266 .N48, 1970-2000
Facsimiles of newspapaer reviews.
Carpenter, Charles A. Modern Drama: Scholarship and Criticism, 1981-1990: An International Bibliography. Toronto, Buffalo and London: Modern Drama and University of Toronto Press, 1997.
FA-REF-4Z5781 .C37 1997
Databases
- These databases can also be accessed from the library home page from the link Articles and Databases
- Search as simply as you can. These databases have a more structured search syntax than the open web... so too many keywords can hinder a successful result.
- Information in the databases listed below cannot typically be found on the open web.
- Try the databases with a star * first to obtain critical reviews and articles. For scholarly information on the open web, try Google Scholar though results can be eratic.
*Proquest
U.S. newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, dissertations and reports.
Click on the News and Newspaper icon for newspaper reviews.
*International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance
Cites articles and books with selected access to full-text content relating to all aspects of performance and the theatre; replaces the scholarly print edition of the International Bibliography of Theatre.
*MLA International Bibliography
Venerated reference database for finding citations to books, book chapters, periodical articles, and dissertations in all languages for all periods from the Middle Ages to present.
*JSTOR
Full-text scholarly journals and primary resources
*Project Muse
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly journals and books
*Academic OneFile
Full-Text articles on all subjects
International Index to the Performing Arts
Cites international scholarly and poplular articles on the performing arts, except music. It also cites performing arts articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post. Most records include an abstract in addition to the citation. The retrospective database draws citations from 46 periodicals and dates back to 1864.
General OneFile
Full-text articles on all subjects
ArticleFirst
Citations to scholarly journal articles in all disciplines
Literature Resource Center
This database could be a good place to start to get a variety of resources and background information about your play or production, artists, directors etc. Search by content type: biography, multimedia, news, literary criticism, primary sources and literary work, and topic.
Music Index
Citations of articles about classical and popular music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals. Covers 1970-pesent.
Newspaper sites to explore including some historical ones (from History research guide by CMU History Librarian, Sue Collins)
Try these two databases which search over many encyclopedias and dictionaries across disciplines at once.They contain concise yet scholarly information on subjects, themes, theories, people, etc. Notice any additional bibliography at the end of entries on a topic that might be useful to you.
Image source: http://www.watson.org/~leigh/shakespeare.
html#globe
Mo Dawley, Art and Drama Librarian
Contact Info:
Hunt Library
Art Library and Special Collections
412-268-6625
Drama Research Guide
Send Email