Open Access-Web
1. Searching Shakespeare companies and festival web sites may help you decide on what production to choose for research and/or provide you further with sources for discussion and criticism of selected productions.
2. IBDB: Internet Broadway Database
Double check information that you find here against trusted sources. There may be inaccuracies.
3. 
Internet Shakespeare Editions (ISE) is an open-access, non-profit scholarly website presenting full-text Shakespeare plays and poems, Shakespeare’s life and times, and Shakespeare in performance.
Shakespeare Productions and Stage History: Reference Books
Kennedy, Dennis. Looking at Shakespeare : a Visual History of Twentieth-Century Performance. 2nd ed. Cambridge [England] ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2001.
A stage history with bibliography, selected black and white images of performances.
HUNT FA-REF-4 PR3100 .K46 2001
O'Connor, John and Katharine Goodland. A Directory of Shakespeare in Performance
HUNT-FA-REF-4 PR3100 .O36 2007; 2011.
Full production data and review excerpts on selected individual productions.VOL 1. Great Britain 1970-2005
VOL. 2 Canada and U.S. 1970-2005
VOL.3 Canada and U.S. Since 1990
Theatre World. (Various publishers, currently published by Applause)
PN2277 .N5 A17 (Annual) 1941-present.
Annual of the American theatre season for Broadway, Off-Broadway, Off-Off Broadway and regional theatre. Broadway and Off-Broadway productions are the most fleshed-out for details, and more production details have been added in more recent years. Always includes a list of practitioners, cast, bios and/or obituaries (sometimes with practioner portrait images) selected production images and index. May include musicians, musical numbers, production history, and play synopsis.Leiter, Samuel, L., ed. Shakespeare Around the Globe : a Guide to Notable Postwar Revivals. New York : Greenwood Press, 1986.
HUNT STACKS-2 PR3100 .S53 1986
Shakespeare Survey. Cambridge [Eng.] New York, Cambridge University Press 1948-present.
HUNT STACKS-2 PR2888 .C3
An annual survey of Shakespearian study and production. Some volumes are shelved off-site and will be retrieved on request at the Hunt Circulation Desk.
Engle, Ron, Felicia Hardison Londre and Daniel J. Watermeier. Shakespeare Companies and Festivals : An International Guide.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1995.
HUNT FA-REF-4 PR3091 .S35 1995
Primarily in the U.S with a one-third of the guide dedicated to international companies and festivals.
Shakespeare's Theatre in Context (web and reference books)
Shakespeare's Theatre: A Dictionary of His Stage Context
Hugh Macrae Richmond, 2002 (Credo Reference online)
Reviews knowledge of the character and operation of theatres in Shakespeare's time, with an explanation of their origins. Coverage includes the practices of Elizabethan actors and script writers: methods of characterization; gesture, blocking and choreography, including music, dance and fighting; actors' rhetorical interaction with audiences; and use of costumes, stage props, and make-up. The author makes use of scripts and scholarship about original stagings of Shakespeare and suggests how those productions related to modern staging; contains current bibliographies for each topic and consolidates these in an overall bibliography for Shakespeare and his theaters.Boyce, Charles. Critical Companion to William Shakespeare : a Literary Reference to His Life and Work.
Edition: Rev. ed.New York : Facts On File, c2005.
HUNT FA-REF-4 PR2892 .B69 2005 2 volumes.
Play entries includes a synopsis, commentary, sources of the play, theatrical and text history, characters. Appendices in Volume 2 include a collection of quotations from the works, a Shakespearean timeline and extensive contents indices and bibliographic references.
Oxford Companion to Shakespeare (Michael Dobson and Stanley Wells, eds.)
Oxford Reference Online, 2001; 2003
Authoritative guide to Shakespeare's plays and poems, and their interpretation around the world over the last four centuries. Special feature entries on every play are included.Hogan, Charles Beecher. Shakespeare in the Theatre, 1701-1800.
Oxford, Clarendon Press, 1952-1957.
HUNT REF-1 PR3097 .H6
v.1 London, 1701-1750.--v. 2. A record of performance in London, 1751-1800.
This provides a list; no commentary.
Shakespeare Illustrated
"A work in progress' by Harry Rusche. "explores nineteenth-century paintings, criticism and productions of Shakespeare's plays and their influences on one another."
Image source: http://www.watson.org/~leigh/shakespeare.
html#globe
Mo Dawley, Art and Drama Librarian
Contact Info:
Hunt Library
Art Library and Special Collections
412-268-6625
Drama Research Guide
Send Email