LibGuides: History: Pictorial Resources: Image Databases

Image Databases

AP Images Collection This link opens in a new window
The Associated Press (AP) Images Collection™ captures the greatest events in history and brings them to life through photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Over two million high-quality images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. NOTE: Artstor is moving to JSTOR in August 2024. Artstor users' image groups will be copied to JSTOR in Feb. 2024. See more details
Bridgeman Education This link opens in a new window
Over two million digital images of art, history, and culture from global museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists all copyright cleared for educational use.

Burst: Free Stock Photos for Websites and Commercial Use
Good for animals, good for people, not so good for animals and people together. When possible, credit for photos is appreciated.
Creative Commons
Search for images you can reuse from a variety of sources - museums, Flickr, etc. You can also search the individual collections, for example, Animal Diversity Web, and limit the search by image type and size, file size, etc. "You must attribute the creator when you provide material to the public by any means that is restricted by copyright or similar rights. If you are using the material personally but are not making it or any adaptations of it available to others, you do not have to attribute the licensor. Similarly, if you are only distributing the material or adaptations of it within your company or organization, you do not have to comply with the attribution requirement."
Google Advanced Image Search
Type in keywords and then limit your search by image size, type, region, domain, and most importantly, usage rights, so you can find images that are free to use.

Harper's Bazaar Archive (1867 - current) This link opens in a new window
The complete archives of the US and UK editions of Harper's Bazaar magazine, a fashion, arts, and culture authority from 1867 to the present. Scanned in full color, it features detailed indexing and searchable text. Database Guide
Harper's Weekly This link opens in a new window
Harper's Weekly, the general interest periodical published from 1857-1912, is a primary source for learning about nineteenth-century events, people, and culture. The HarpWeek Database consists of the pages of Harper's Weekly, scanned as images, together with a series of interactive indexes. It contains many images by Winslow Homer, Thomas Nast, and Mathew Brady. Literature in the database is searchable by title, author and literary genre. In addition, over 30,000 advertisements, categorized by topic and advertiser, are included. Harper's Weekly provides detailed information and insights on major and minor political, military, and social issues and events prior to and during the Civil War as well as The Reconstruction and Gilded Age.
Life Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning its very first issue in November, 1936 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published by Time Inc., the magazine has featured story-telling through documentary photographs and informative captions. Each issue visually and powerfully depicted national and international events and topical stories, providing intimate views of real people and their real life situations.

Pixabay
Copyright free images and videos. You can search by keyword or browse the category: Animals and Humans. Attribution is not required. Giving credit to the contributor or Pixabay is not necessary but is always appreciated.
Unsplash
Freely usable images. Creating an account lets you create collections that let you organize photos you love or want to save for later projects.Has a category for People and Animals. You do not need to ask permission from or provide credit to the photographer or Unsplash, although it is appreciated when possible.

Vogue Archive‎ This link opens in a new window
The full contents of Vogue magazine (US edition) in full color page image, from the first issue in 1892 to the present, with monthly updates for new issues. Database Guide
Vogue Italia Archive‎ (1964 - current) This link opens in a new window
The complete run of Vogue Italia – one of the most influential and renowned international editions of Vogue – from its launch in 1964 to the present. Recognized as the least commercial and most artistic edition, it has a tradition of innovation and bold treatment of current issues and events. Vogue Italia’s appeal and influence is international, with almost half of its print issues typically being sold outside of Italy. Database Guide