CMU LibGuides: History: Pictorial Resources: Moving Images Databases

Moving Images Databases

Academic Video Online (Avon) This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Database Guide. Titles are also available in the Alexander Street Academic Video Online platform.
American Newsreels in Video This link opens in a new window
News footage covering the years leading up to and during the Second World War.
BBC Landmark Video Teaching This link opens in a new window
Access to cutting-edge series on natural events from the depths of the oceans to the Antarctic ice cap, featuring a groundbreaking exclusive HD view into our natural world, Your classrooms and students can now experience breathtaking natural events like never before. Database Guide.
Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of influential performers and companies of the 20th century.
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online This link opens in a new window
Over 2,000 hours of previously unpublished historic field recordings from around the world, alongside their supporting field notes and ethnographers’ metadata, opening new paths for the study of music in its cultural context.
HistoryMakers This link opens in a new window
Largest African American oral video history archive in the world. The site works best in modern (2020 or newer) browsers like Chrome, Safari, Edge, and Firefox. It will not work in Internet Explorer. To access, choose "Colleges, Universities, and Libraries: Access Through Your Institution" and search for Carnegie Mellon to get to the login box.
Kanopy Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
Provides remote access to over 25,000 documentary and feature films on many subjects: arts, business, global studies, health, sciences, technical training, etc. Please read these changes to the Kanopy Streaming Service. For questions, contact Kim Dolan.
Revolution and Protest Online This link opens in a new window
Revolution and Protest Online explores the protest movements, revolutions, and civil wars that have transformed societies and human experience from the 18th century through the present. Organized around more than thirty events and areas, representing a variety of time periods, regions, and topics, this collection includes at completion 175 hours of video, 100,000 pages of printed materials (personal papers, organizations, government documents, journals, reports, monographs, and speeches), and more than 1,000 images. Database Guide
Sixties Video Titles This link opens in a new window
Fifty hours of primary footage and secondary documentaries that explore the key events of the sixties and early seventies, including the civil rights movement, the women's rights movement and the sexual revolution. It features interviews with major players of the decade, including political leaders John F. Kennedy, Robert Kennedy, and Richard Nixon, and revolutionaries such as Martin Luther King, Malcolm X, Cesar Chavez, and Elaine Brown.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is one of the most extensive and complete archives of television news anywhere in the world. We have been recording, preserving, and providing access to television news broadcasts of the U.S. national networks since August 5, 1968. The core collection includes daily evening news programs from ABC, CBS, and NBC along with CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).
World Newsreels Online: 1929-1966 This link opens in a new window
A streaming video product which captures full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century. Newsreels are in English, French and Japanese.

History: Pictorial Resources: Moving Images Databases

Moving Images Databases

See Also