Looking for News Sources? - Modern Languages: 82323 - Germany, Austria, and Switzerland in the 20th Century

Finding Newspaper Articles

in Databases
Internet

The following are select databases that are known for their newspaper coverage as well as those with historical coverage. For additional information on finding newspapers, see the Newspapers subject guide.

General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Millions of news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, international, full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works.
ProQuest Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Covers 1970-present, though exact dates vary by title. Full text of over 400 Canadian news sources. Includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each.
ProQuest International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
ca. 2000-present. Exact dates vary by title. News content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades. Includes 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
1980-present. Premium US News content including such leading papers as The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. Also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.

World Newsreels Online: 1929-1966 This link opens in a new window
A streaming video product which captures full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century. Newsreels are in English, French and Japanese.

The following resource is a great place to find links for newspapers and media sources from all over the world:

ABYZnewslinks
> Search by region, or country
> Find English and non-English papers

ANNO: AustriaN Newspaper Online
>Includes historically significant issues of Austrian newspapers

Disclaimer: Due to the occasional information block by the Chinese government, some of these links might be temporarily unavailable.

Also see the Select Internet Resources tab for additional sources.

Modern Languages: 82323 - Germany, Austria, and Switzerland in the 20th Century: Looking for News Sources?

Finding Newspaper Articles