ArchiveGrid: A database for finding primary resource material in archives all over the world. Searching ArchiveGrid might prove helpful when researching prominent figures in 20th-century Germany, Austria, or Switzerland.
Archivschule.de: Deutsche Archive im Internet (German Archives on the Internet) provides links to various archives in and outside of Germany. They are sorted by type.
The Internet Archive: The Internet Archive is a great resource containing freely available books, visual media, and other sources.
Austrian State Archives: Collections held at the ASA are great resources for students. They contain materials relevant to the history and culture of Austria.
National Archives of Switzerland
WIEN.AT: Under the Culture & History tab on this interactive site, students are able to browse through links to various museums, cultural events, and bits of information pertaining to the history of Vienna.
Deutsche Nationalbibliothek: Follow this link to the German National Library where you can find links to various different catalogs, historical centers, and virtual exhibitions that could contain pertinent information tied to your research interests.
PORT Webpage: This website is essentially a portal to other websites for certain information centers. The websites for these centers contain important bodies of information dedicated to studying literature, visual media, history, politics, and science in Germany, Austria, as well as Switzerland. Try browsing through the list of institutions to see if they can help you in your research.
Germany Under Reconstruction: "The Germany Under Reconstruction digital collection provides a varied selection of publications in both English and German from the period immediately following WWII."
Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek: "The goal of the Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek (DDB) is to offer everyone unrestricted access to Germany’s cultural and scientific heritage, that is, access to millions of books, archived items, images, sculptures, pieces of music and other sound documents, as well as films and scores, from all over Germany."
German History in Documents and Images (GHDI): As part of the German Historical Institute in Washington D.C., GHDI is "a comprehensive collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present."
Münchener Digitalisierungs Zentrum - Digitale Bibliothek: "Munich Digitization Center (MDZ) handles the digitization and online publication of the cultural heritage preserved by the Bavarian State Library and by other institutions."
Nazi and East German Propaganda Guide: Maintained by Professor Emeritus Randall Bytwerk from Calvin College, this digital archive "includes both propaganda itself and material produced for the guidance of propagandists. The goal is to help people understand the two great totalitarian systems of the twentieth century by giving them access to the primary material."