Start Here - Modern Languages: 82323 - Germany, Austria, and Switzerland in the 20th Century

Before You Start...

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Helps design research projects, identify methods, conduct research, and write up findings. Basic source for research methods in all fields.

As you begin to think about your topic, you should also think about the tools you plan to use to gather your research sources. For example:

Do you have a tool for gathering all your research, annotate it, and organize your projects?
Do you have a tool to help you cite your research and create a bibliography?
Do you have a to help you network with other researchers?

Save your self time with a little planning. Visit our Citation Tools guide for information on available tools.

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks or atlases, can provide a great overview. These kinds of materials help you to:

Learn more about the topic in general or a particular aspect of it
Locate definitions of concepts, important facts, and key data
Understand the context, research themes, and theories relevant to your topic
Discover concepts and related vocabulary
Identify further readings and ways in which you may focus your topic

Wikipedia is convenient, and can be a place to learn about a new topic, but don't rely on it alone; most Carnegie Mellon University instructors do not accept Wikipedia as a cited source for your assignments.

Tip: Quickest way to browse is to use the provided links to navigate to a specific subject, library, or materials type (see sample below):

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
You can also use the Credo Reference database to get an overview of the topics you wish to explore further.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Over 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture by John Sandford (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0415124484
Publication Date: 1999-07-27
Encyclopedia of European Peoples by Carl Waldman; Catherine Mason
Call Number: D1056 .@35 2006
ISBN: 0816049645
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
Europe Since 1945 by Bernard A. Cook (Editor)
Call Number: D1051 .E873 2001
ISBN: 0815313365
Publication Date: 2001-01-10

The following resources contain background information on Vienna at the turn of the century. Take some time to look through these resources listed below. Be sure to use both English and German keyword search terms!

Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Famed Encyclopedia Brittanica, covering all topics, with enhanced features.
CQ Researcher plus Archive This link opens in a new window
1923-present. Unbiased research reports on timely topics. Each report provides an introduction, overview, background, current situation, outlook chronology, pro/con, bibliography, etc. Keyword search for additional reports also show links to other relevant reports. Database Guide.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and dictionaries on a wide variety of subjects.
Europa World This link opens in a new window
Economic, political and geographic information and statistics for every country in the world.

Life Hacker
This article from Life Hacker describes several language-learning apps and interfaces that you can use to hone your German-speaking skills.

Modern Languages: 82323 - Germany, Austria, and Switzerland in the 20th Century: Start Here

Before You Start...

Remember to ....