Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
18th Century Newspapers - European
17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media, totaling almost 1200 titles.
Global Press Archive This link opens in a new window
A digitized collection of over 2,000 predominantly foreign-language newspaper titles ranging in coverage from the late 19th Century to present times. Features stand alone titles and databases aggregating multiple titles from specific regions and time periods with 17 countries and 12 languages represented. This resource is a work in progress that continues to grow each year.
Historical Newspapers: Guardian and The Observer (1791 - 2003) This link opens in a new window
The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister paper, The Observer (1791-2003) give readers online access to facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant and fascinating political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past two centuries.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985 This link opens in a new window
Search and display the full text of the Times (London), a major English language European newspaper
18th Century Newspapers - United States
Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant (1764 - 1992) This link opens in a new window
America's longest continuously published newspaper, the Hartford Courant is literally older than the nation. It provides historians and other researchers a front-row seat from which to view the birth of an independent nation.
18th Century Newspapers - Pittsburgh
July 29, 1786-May 29, 1820
, Ethnic & Gender Studies
, General Topics
, Information Systems
, Language & Linguistics
, Public Policy
, Social & Decision Sciences
, Women's Studies