CMU LibGuides: Newspapers by Date: 20th Century

20th Century Newspapers - European

EFYS Zeitungsinformationssystem
89 historical German newspapers and newspapers in German. Introduction in English

Global Press Archive This link opens in a new window
A digitized collection of over 2,000 predominantly foreign-language newspaper titles ranging in coverage from the late 19th Century to present times. Features stand alone titles and databases aggregating multiple titles from specific regions and time periods with 17 countries and 12 languages represented. This resource is a work in progress that continues to grow each year.
Historical Newspapers: Guardian and The Observer (1791 - 2003) This link opens in a new window
The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister paper, The Observer (1791-2003) give readers online access to facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant and fascinating political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past two centuries.
Historical Newspapers: Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (1859 - 2016) This link opens in a new window
Two major Irish newspapers who have earned international acclaim for their independent reporting.
Historical Newspapers: Scotsman (1817 - 1950) This link opens in a new window
When it was founded in 1817, The Scotsman was so radical that it was considered “incendiary.” Today, it continues to provide an independent voice and uniquely Scottish analysis of local and global events.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Dates of newspapers vary by title, most ca. late 1990s-present.

Proquest European Newsstream
ca. 1998-present. Exact dates vary by title. Covers such publications as the Times (London), the Guardian, Le Monde, Die Zeit, etc.

Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
Search and display the full text of the Times (London), a major English language European newspaper

20th Century Newspapers - United States

American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of prison periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions. Development of the collection began in July 2020 and will continue through 2021, with new content added regularly.

Brooklyn Daily Eagle
Full text: 1841-1964. Published as a daily newspaper for 114 consecutive years without missing a single edition. Originally conceived as a temporary political forum for the 1842 election, outlived & absorbed all other Brooklyn daily papers except the Brooklyn Citizen. At one point the Eagle actually became the nation's most widely read afternoon newspaper. Unusual for major city daily newspapers of that time period, the Eagle chronicled national & intern'l affairs as well as local & daily life.
Chronicling America: Historic Newspapers
From the Library of Congress
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Frank Leslie's Weekly This link opens in a new window
An American illustrated literary and news publication, 1855-1922. Read more about Frank Leslie’s Weekly
Harper's Weekly This link opens in a new window
Harper's Weekly, the general interest periodical published from 1857-1912, is a primary source for learning about nineteenth-century events, people, and culture. The HarpWeek Database consists of the pages of Harper's Weekly, scanned as images, together with a series of interactive indexes. It contains many images by Winslow Homer, Thomas Nast, and Mathew Brady. Literature in the database is searchable by title, author and literary genre. In addition, over 30,000 advertisements, categorized by topic and advertiser, are included. Harper's Weekly provides detailed information and insights on major and minor political, military, and social issues and events prior to and during the Civil War as well as The Reconstruction and Gilded Age.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
The single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English.
Historical Newspapers: Arizona Republican (1890 - 2007) This link opens in a new window
Arose in 1890 to ultimately become the state’s largest newspaper. Fighting for business, publishers of the area’s early papers often dueled for readership with colorful, sometimes combative language and sensationalized stories. It was instrumental in the campaign for
Arizona statehood, which was achieved in 1912.
Historical Newspapers: Atlanta Constitution (1868 - 1984) This link opens in a new window
Provides a fascinating glimpse into the political, economic, cultural, and social life of the southeastern United States from Reconstruction through the late 20th century.
Historical Newspapers: Baltimore Sun (1837 - 1992) This link opens in a new window
Founded by Arunah Shepherdson Abell as a paper devoted to the news that most directly affected the lives of its readers, The Baltimore Sun’s history is among the most distinguished in American journalism. It represented this bustling port city by reporting on pivotal issues and events of the 19th and early 20th centuries: immigration, the slave trade, commerce, the Civil War, Washington D.C. politics
Historical Newspapers: Boston Globe (1872-1986) This link opens in a new window
One of America's largest cities, the Historical Boston Globe provides insight into such issues as immigration, rapid industrialization, technological innovation, and urban development and renewal.
Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849 - current minus 24 years) This link opens in a new window
Major U. S. newspaper, known for investigative and public service journalism.
Historical Newspapers: Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 2004) This link opens in a new window
With the exception of publishing one religious article each day at the request of the pioneering Mrs. Eddy, The Christian Science Monitor provides secular, balanced coverage of international news and events, as a public service. For more than 100 years, its staff writers and correspondents around the world have reported on wars, scientific discoveries, human rights abuses, political campaigns, the arts, the environment, and people trying to make a positive difference.
Historical Newspapers: Cincinnati Enquirer (1841 - 2009) This link opens in a new window
When the Cincinnati Enquirer printed its first issue 1841, the thriving city – the nation’s 6th largest in the mid-19th century - was known as “The Queen of the West.” A remarkable period of rapid growth, epitomizing the expansive spirit of the country at large, gave this paper a unique perspective to report on
international, national and regional news.
Historical Newspapers: Dayton Daily News (1898 - 1922) This link opens in a new window
The evening paper for the residents of Dayton, Ohio, United States, its pages offer researchers a fascinating glimpse into the history and economic, cultural, and social life of the Ohio, the U.S., and the world from the late 19th century onwards.
Historical Newspapers: Detroit Free Press (1831 - 1999) This link opens in a new window
The leading newspaper in the region. The newspaper rose to prominence as Detroit became a major trading post and industrial hub.
Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant (1764 - 1992) This link opens in a new window
America's longest continuously published newspaper, the Hartford Courant is literally older than the nation. It provides historians and other researchers a front-row seat from which to view the birth of an independent nation.
Historical Newspapers: Indianapolis Star (1903 - 2004) This link opens in a new window
The largest paper in Indiana, and a staunch watchdog and advocate for its community.
Historical Newspapers: Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals (1845 - 2015) This link opens in a new window
A collection of English-language newspapers and periodicals spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers’ rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyism’s rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles which give rise to renewed interest in alternative social organizations. This collection includes 145 titles with over 150,000 digitized pages.
Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times (1881 - current minus 24 years) This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the development of the Southern California and American West as well as national news. For recent issues, Dec. 4, 1996-present, go here. For fully searchable full page images, 2008 - present (with a 3-month embargo), go here. For additional editions, blogs, etc., search lost angeles times in Publications.
Historical Newspapers: Louisville Courier Journal (1830 - 2000) This link opens in a new window
Award-winning in-depth coverage of the pivotal people and events who shaped the local region, and made an impact on the rest of the world. In the early decades of the 20th century, the Courier-Journal became a forum for conflict when it was purchased by liberal Robert Worth Bingham whose views clashed with the longtime conservative editor, Henry Watterson. The paper went on to become a progressive voice in southern politics, championing causes such as public education, equal rights for blacks and advocating for the poor of Appalachia.
Historical Newspapers: Minneapolis Star Tribune (1867 - 2001) This link opens in a new window
Early issues document the rise of Minneapolis as a business hub, with coverage of growth in flour- and graining-milling industries, culminating in the foundation of General Mills, Pillsbury and the Washburn-Crosby Company. Related stories trace the railroad boom of the late 1800s, the debut of the first hydroelectric power plant in 1882, and the advent of worker protection laws resulting from the Teamsters strike of 1934.
Historical Newspapers: Nashville Tennessean (1812 - 2002) This link opens in a new window
Provides unique historical insight into the regional issues and concerns, such as local government, industrialization, prohibition, and racial struggles. This diverse, easily-accessible primary source material is an invaluable tool for effective research by users in almost any field.
Historical Newspapers: New York Times (1851 - ca. current minus 3 years) This link opens in a new window
Historical access to major U.S. newspaper, often considered the "newspaper of record." For current issues, 1980-present, use this. Fully searchable digital images of issues from 2008 - current (with a 3-month embargo) are available here.
Historical Newspapers: New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841 - 1962) This link opens in a new window
Horace Greeley, founder of the New York Herald Tribune, was arguably one of the most colorful and powerful publishers of his time. His editorials influenced the abolishment of slavery, plagued presidents and politicians, and encouraged the settlement of the West. His newspaper featured revolutionary thinkers such as Margaret Fuller, Karl Marx, and Friedrich Engels. Reform minded Greeley, whose newspaper had a circulation of more than a quarter of a million by the 1860s, helped form the Republican Party and ran for president in 1872.
Historical Newspapers: Newsday (1940 - 1989) This link opens in a new window
As the largest suburban newspaper in the United States, Newsday (Nassau Edition) provides a fascinating glimpse into the political, economic, cultural, and social life of the New York metropolitan area and northeastern United States during the post-World War II period.
Historical Newspapers: Philadelphia Inquirer, 1860-2001 This link opens in a new window
One of the longest surviving daily newspapers in the United States, the Philadelphia Inquirer is known for its coverage of the American Civil War, its published works by Charles Dickens and Edgar Allan Poe, and its reporting of breaking news in the city, country, and around the world. Important Note: This database is currently under construction. Some dates and full text may not be available. Forthcoming in 2017 the database will cover 1829-2009.
Historical Newspapers: San Francisco Chronicle (1865 - 1922) This link opens in a new window
During its first five decades, this paper presented issues from a young, Northwestern perspective, giving researchers a window through which to study westward expansion, Chinese immigration, machine politics, urban planning, war, public policy, and more.
Historical Newspapers: St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874 - 2003) This link opens in a new window
Noted for its investigative reporting and human interest stories. Created by Joseph Pulitzer of two pre-existing newspapers, the Post-Dispatch is the only St. Louis newspaper still in print.
Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal (1890 - current minus 17 years) This link opens in a new window
Historical full text of U. S. business newspaper. For current issues, 1984-present, go here. Fully searchable full page images from 2008 - current (with a 3-month embargo). are here.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

New York Times
HUNT NEWSPAPR-3
Paper kept until the microfilm arrives
HUNT MFILM-3
1851-present

New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full text access to New York Times, 1980 - present. For historical access, go here. New York Times Online articles are here. Fully searchable full page images of issues from 2008 - current (with a 3-month embargo) are available here.
New York Times Digital Access via Academic Pass This link opens in a new window
This access to the New York Times requires creating an account and logging in with your CMU email address.

Students: Access lasts until December 31st of your graduation year.

Faculty: Access lasts for 4 years at which time you must re-authenticate.

Limitations: Unlimited access to NYT articles 1851-present except for 1923-1980 where the limit is 5 articles per day. Does not include e-reader editions, crosswords or other games, or other premier content. Includes app access, though not all devices support NYT apps.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Dates of newspapers vary by title, most ca. late 1990s-present.
Pennsylvania Newspapers (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Seach and display articles from Pennsylvania newspapers culled from the Access World News database from NewsBank. Exact dates of coverage vary by title, with most ca. 2000 - present.

Pittsburgh Post Gazette
Paper kept until microfilm arrives.
1978-present
HUNT MFILM-3
Pittsburgh Post Gazette 1993-present via Proquest
Absorbed Pittsburgh Press (see below) and continues Pittsburgh
Post-Gazette, Sun-Telegraph
Pittsburgh Post Gazette Archives
Will give you citations which you can use to find full text on microfilm.
Press Reader
Read current and past 90 days in the print paper format

ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
1980-present. Premium US News content including such leading papers as The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. Also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
Documenting White Supremacy and Its Opponents in the 1920s This link opens in a new window
This primary source collection of 1920s newspapers features significant publications of the Ku Klux Klan along with the Catholic, Jewish, and African-American newspapers opposing the Klan and white nationalism in general. For CMU users, the corpus is fully downloadable for text- and datamining purposes. Contact a CMU librarian to access the corpus in this way.
USA Newspapers (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Search and display newspapers articles of the United States of America from the Access World News database from NewsBank. Exact dates of coverage vary by title, but most ca. 2000 - present.

Wall Street Journal
HUNT NEWSPAPR-3
Paper kept until microfilm arrives
HUNT MFILM-3
1955-present

Wall Street Journal (Dow Jones) This link opens in a new window
Articles in major US business newspaper through the WSJ platform. Content includes 4 years of rolling backfiles. CMU affiliates must create an initial account using your CMU Andrew email address. Then you can also download the WSJ app and login there for access too. Historical issues through ProQuest (1851-2006) are here, and Wall Street Journal Online articles are here. Fully searchable full page images from 2008 - current (with a 3-month embargo) are here. Other editions are also available. Type wall street journal in the Publication Browse to see options.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Articles in major US business newspaper,1984-present, Eastern edition. Historical issues (1851-2006) are here, and Wall Street Journal Online articles are here. Fully searchable full page images from 2008 - current (with a 3-month embargo) are here. Other editions are also available. Type wall street journal in the Publication Browse to see options.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
December 4, 1996-present. Major American daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C., that has a particular emphasis on national politics. Washington Post Online articles are here. For issues Jan 1, 1987 - Dec 3, 1996, see here. Fully searchable full page images for issues 2008 - present (with a 3-month embargo) are available here. Other editions, like blog and online are also available. Search Publications with the terms washington post for options. Issues for 1979-1986 available on microfilm on the 3rd floor of Hunt Library.

20th Century Newspapers - Pittsburgh

Historical Newspapers: Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-1950 This link opens in a new window
"Once the country's most widely circulated black newspaper with a national circulation of almost 200,000." Read more about the Pittsburgh Courier. Note: Issues from 1913-1922 are not available.
Historical Newspapers: Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, 1786-2003 This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette from 1786-2003. For other years, search the library catalog.

Pittsburgh Clipping File.
ca. 1900 to present.
Pennsylvania Department, Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh. File containing thousands of articles from local newspapers covering a variety of historical and current topics and personalities of the Pittsburgh area.
Pittsburg Dispatch
1880-1923
From the Library of Congress's Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers website.
to search, use the Advanced Search tab and select newspaper(s) from the list offered along with any other search criteria.

Pittsburgh Newspapers (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Search and display article from Pittsburgh newspapers culled from the Access World News database from NewsBank. Includes the Tartan. Exact dates of coverage vary by title, most ca. 2000 - present.

Pittsburgh Catholic
Duquesne University has continuously microfilmed the Pittsburgh Catholic since its inception in 1844. To convert the Pittsburgh Catholic to digital format, Gumberg Library started with volume 1 issue 1 and will continue to digitize the newspaper from the oldest volumes to the newest volumes. Currently, the first 113 years covering from March 16, 1844 through March 7, 1957 are available by browsing or searching the full-text.

Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project This link opens in a new window
1895-present. Full text newspapers: The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present).

Pittsburgh Post Gazette
Paper kept until microfilm arrives.
1978-present
HUNT MFILM-3
Pittsburgh Post Gazette 1993-present via Proquest
Absorbed Pittsburgh Press (see below) and continues Pittsburgh
Post-Gazette, Sun-Telegraph
Pittsburgh Post Gazette Archives
Will give you citations which you can use to find full text on microfilm.
Pittsburgh Press
1960-1992
HUNT MFILM-3
Absorbed by Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (see above)
Pittsburgh Smart Business
ca. 1994-present.
Pittsburgh Tribune Review
Paper kept until microfilm arrives. 1995-present on microfilm, HUNT 3rd floor
1995-May 2010 filed under Tribune Review (Greensburgh edition), 2010-present filed under Pittsburgh Tribune Review (Pittsburgh edition)
Pittsburgh Tribune Review 2006-present via Proquest

20th Century Newspapers - Latin America

Global Press Archive This link opens in a new window
A digitized collection of over 2,000 predominantly foreign-language newspaper titles ranging in coverage from the late 19th Century to present times. Features stand alone titles and databases aggregating multiple titles from specific regions and time periods with 17 countries and 12 languages represented. This resource is a work in progress that continues to grow each year.

Proquest Latin American Newsstream
ca. 1998-present. Includes titles from Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Costa Rica, Peru, Uruguay, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guatemala, Puerto Rico, and Venezuela. Latin American Newsstream provides newspapers in Spanish and Portuguese. Key newspaper titles include: El Universal (Mexico City);O Globo (Brazil);La Nación (Argentina);and El Mercurio (Chile).

20th Century Newspapers-African

Global Press Archive This link opens in a new window
A digitized collection of over 2,000 predominantly foreign-language newspaper titles ranging in coverage from the late 19th Century to present times. Features stand alone titles and databases aggregating multiple titles from specific regions and time periods with 17 countries and 12 languages represented. This resource is a work in progress that continues to grow each year.

Proquest African Newsstream
ca. 1998-present. Latest news and developments from a variety of titles including The International Herald Tribune, Africa News Service, BBC Monitoring Africa and more.

20th Century Newspapers - Asian

Global Press Archive This link opens in a new window
A digitized collection of over 2,000 predominantly foreign-language newspaper titles ranging in coverage from the late 19th Century to present times. Features stand alone titles and databases aggregating multiple titles from specific regions and time periods with 17 countries and 12 languages represented. This resource is a work in progress that continues to grow each year.
Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832 - 1953) This link opens in a new window
12 English-language
Chinese historical newspapers providing critical perspectives and first-handaccounts on the ending ofmore than 2,000 years of imperial rule in China, the Taiping Rebellion, the Opium Wars with Great Britain,the Boxer Rebellion and the events leading up to the 1911 Xinhai Revolution, and the subsequent foundingof the Republic of China.
Historical Newspapers: Korea Times (1956 - 2016) This link opens in a new window
The oldest and most influential English-language newspaper in Korea, The Korea Times is globally recognized for its coverage of international business, economic and financial news – historically through contemporary times – as well as its perspective on regional issues and events.
Historical Newspapers: South China Morning Post (1903 - 1998) This link opens in a new window
Known for its authoritative, influential, and independent reporting on all of Asia as well as its perspective of the rest of the world.
Historical Newspapers: Times of India (1838 - 2008) This link opens in a new window
The world's most widely circulated English daily newspaper was founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India. Today this historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more.

Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers
1911-1949. The press of more than twenty cities is represented, spanning the Chinese mainland and the entire half century. The collection provides researchers a richly comprehensive perspective on Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People’s Republic.
Newspapers SG
1831-2009. Current and historic Singapore and Malaya newspapers. You can search our digital archive of newspapers published between 1831-2009, or find information on over 200 newspaper titles in the National Library's microfilm collection.
Proquest Asian Newsstream
ca. 1998-present. 0ne of the most respected national and regional sources of news and current affairs information in Asia and the Far East. Includes such titles as The Wall Street Journal Asia, China News and The Bangkok Post.

20th Century Newspapers - Australian and New Zealand

Proquest Australia and New Zealand Newsstream
ca. 1998-present. Exact dates vary by title. Latest local, regional and national news from such sources as Fairfax Australia and Fairfax New Zealand, News Limited, the Australian Broadcasting Corporation and APP newswires.
Trove
ca. 1803-1995 Exact dates vary by newspaper
Australian newspapers online

20th Century Newspapers - Middle East

Global Press Archive This link opens in a new window
A digitized collection of over 2,000 predominantly foreign-language newspaper titles ranging in coverage from the late 19th Century to present times. Features stand alone titles and databases aggregating multiple titles from specific regions and time periods with 17 countries and 12 languages represented. This resource is a work in progress that continues to grow each year.
Historical Newspapers: Jerusalem Post (1932 - 2008) This link opens in a new window
Founded in 1932 as The Palestine Post, this paper established itself as the top English-language paper of the Middle East and Jewish world. Popular with British servicemen and women stationed in the region, as well as readers in Cairo and Alexandria, the paper had strong readership in both Jewish and Arab cities throughout Palestine. The publication fervently supported the struggle for a Jewish homeland and freely opposed British restrictions on Jewish immigration. The publication came to be known as The Jerusalem Post in 1950. Over the decades, the paper espoused a left-leaning perspective that shifted to the right in the 1980s. It is regarded as one of the world’s most important newspaper titles, with in-depth historical coverage of regional and world events, and excellent resource for researchers of a various topics.

Jerusalem Post
HUNT MFILM-3
1967
Proquest Middle East Newsstream
ca. 1998-present. more than 30 current, full text news sources in English and French from across the Arab World, Southwest Asia and surrounding countries.

20th Century Newspapers - African American

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
More than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
African American Newspapers (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Search and display African American newspapers culled from the Access World News database from NewsBank. Exact dates of coverage vary by title, with most ca. 2000 - present.
Historical Newspapers: Baltimore Afro-American (1893 - 1988) This link opens in a new window
Through the decades, the newspaper fought for equal employment rights, urged African-Americanparticipation in politics, and advocated state-funded higher education for blacks. In the 1930s, The AfroAmerican launched “The Clean Block” campaign, which is still in existence today, to clean up inner-city neighborhoods and fight crime. It stationed correspondents in Europe and the Pacific during World War II, providing first-hand reports to readers.
Historical Newspapers: Cleveland Call and Post (1934 - 1991) This link opens in a new window
Editor William O. Walker used his newspaper to rally the masses in support of equal rights, much as civil rights leaders would decades later. Through his newspaper, Walker also promoted participation in politics, urged the establishment of legal aid societies by the African-American community, and encouraged black solidarity and self-reliance.
Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910 - 1975) This link opens in a new window
One of the leading and most influential newspapers of the African American community, with about two thirds of its readership outside the Windy City. With an estimated readership of about 500,000, the newspaper was a major voice in African American history. Read more about the Chicago Defender
Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Sentinel (1934 - 2005) This link opens in a new window
The oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the U.S.
Historical Newspapers: Michigan Chronicle (1936 - 2010) This link opens in a new window
Weekly African-American newspaper based in Detroit, Michigan. It was founded in 1936 by John H. Sengstacke, owner of the Chicago Defender. The Chronicle garnered national attention in its early years for its "radical" approach to politics. It advocated on behalf of both organized labor and the Democratic Party, both unusual in an era when the union movement was often seen as hostile to Black workers and the Southern-influenced Democratic Party frequently accepted racist policies.
Historical Newspapers: New York Amsterdam News (1922 - 1993) This link opens in a new window
One of the oldest newspapers geared toward African Americans in the United States and has published columns by notable people including W. E. B. Du Bois, Roy Wilkins, and Adam Clayton Powell Jr., and was the first to recognize and publish Malcolm X.
Historical Newspapers: Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916 - 2003) This link opens in a new window
The only black newspaper to provide on-the-scene, day-to-day coverage of the Scottsboro trial, and was one of the best researched and well written black newspapers of its time. Note: No issues ca. 1918-1921.
Historical Newspapers: Philadelphia Tribune (1912 - 2001) This link opens in a new window
The oldest continuously published black newspaper in the U.S.
Historical Newspapers: Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-1950 This link opens in a new window
"Once the country's most widely circulated black newspaper with a national circulation of almost 200,000." Read more about the Pittsburgh Courier. Note: Issues from 1913-1922 are not available.
Documenting White Supremacy and Its Opponents in the 1920s This link opens in a new window
This primary source collection of 1920s newspapers features significant publications of the Ku Klux Klan along with the Catholic, Jewish, and African-American newspapers opposing the Klan and white nationalism in general. For CMU users, the corpus is fully downloadable for text- and datamining purposes. Contact a CMU librarian to access the corpus in this way.

20th Century Newspapers - Canadian

Historical Canadian Newspapers Online: Home
ca. 1800-present. Exact dates vary by title. Links to historical Canadian newspapers that are freely available on the Internet.

Historical Newspapers: Edmonton Journal (1903-2000) This link opens in a new window
Daily newspaper out of Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, with an established editorial policy of supporting the Conservative party.
Historical Newspapers: Globe and Mail (1844 - 2014) This link opens in a new window
Canada’s largest circulation national newspaper and is typically cited as being “Canada’s Newspaper of Record.”
Historical Newspapers: Leader-Post (Regina) (1883-2010) This link opens in a new window
The only newspaper published in Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada, formed in 1928 when the owners of the Leader bought the competing Regina Daily Post and merged the two.
Historical Newspapers: Ottawa Citizen (1845-2010) This link opens in a new window
English-language daily newspaper from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, whose motto is Fair play and Day-Light.
Historical Newspapers: Province (Vancouver) (1898-2010) This link opens in a new window
Daily newspaper published in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.
Historical Newspapers: Saskatoon Star Phoenix (1902-2009) This link opens in a new window
Daily newspaper published in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada.
Historical Newspapers: Toronto Star (1894 - 2015) This link opens in a new window
Canada’s highest circulation newspaper and it was unique among early North
American newspapers in its consistent advocacy of ordinary people. It was an advocate of social causes such as the welfare state, old age pensions, unemployment insurance, and health care. It is generally considered to be the most leftwing of Canada’s major newspapers and a major influence on the development of Canadian social policy. Its early opposition of the Nazi regime saw the paper become the first North American paper to be banned in Germany by its government.
Historical Newspapers: Windsor Star (1883-2010) This link opens in a new window
Daily newspaper in Windsor, Ontario, Canada.
ProQuest Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Covers 1970-present, though exact dates vary by title. Full text of over 400 Canadian news sources. Includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each.

20th Century Newspapers - Special Interest

Historical Newspapers: Communist Historical Newspaper Collection (1917 - 2013) This link opens in a new window
A unique look at history, through the eyes of the Communist Party USA. Workers’ rights, social issues, national and international politics, culture and Party activity are just some of the topics to be explored on the pages of these Communist Party newspapers, featuring such notable contributors as writer Richard Wright, folk singer Woody Guthrie and political cartoonist Robert Minor.

Service Newspapers of World War II
The story of war as told by the newspapers that brought information, entertainment and camaraderie to the forces at home and overseas. Explore over 300 titles from key nations across the globe that took part in the world-changing conflict. International in scope.
Silent Worker
1888-1929
Popular national newspaper among the deaf population of the United States during the end of the 1890's through the end of the first quarter of the 20th century.
Stars and Stripes: The American Soldiers' Newspaper of World War I, 1918 to 1919
Includes the complete seventy-one-week run of The Stars and Stripes World War I edition. The Stars and Stripes was published in France by the American Expeditionary Forces (AEF) of the United States Army from February 8, 1918, to June 13, 1919.

Documenting White Supremacy and Its Opponents in the 1920s This link opens in a new window
This primary source collection of 1920s newspapers features significant publications of the Ku Klux Klan along with the Catholic, Jewish, and African-American newspapers opposing the Klan and white nationalism in general. For CMU users, the corpus is fully downloadable for text- and datamining purposes. Contact a CMU librarian to access the corpus in this way.

20th Century Newspapers - Ethnic

Akwesasne Notes (American Indian Digital History Project)
ca. 1973-1987. Influential Native American newspaper of the twentieth century
American Indian Newspapers
Nearly 200 years (1828-2016) of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.

Ethnic Newspapers (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Search and display articles from ethnic newspapers culled from the Access World News database from NewsBank. Exact dates vary by title, but most ca. 2000 - present.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
The single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English.
Historical Newspapers: American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857 - 1922) This link opens in a new window
The American Hebrew was a weekly Jewish newspaper published in New York City. In 1903 it merged with the Jewish Messenger. The paper covered many topics of Jewish interest internationally. Many prominent Jewish writers and communal workers in the United States have been contributors to its pages.
Historical Newspapers: American Israelite (1854 - 2000) This link opens in a new window
Longest-running English-language Jewish newspaper still published in the United States. The newspaper's two goals were to spread the principles of Reform Judaism, and to keep American Jews in touch with Jewish affairs and their religious identity.
Historical Newspapers: Jewish Advocate (1905 - 1990) This link opens in a new window
A primary source of news and information as well as a forum for discussion and debate, providing lines of communication uniting the community and supporting the efforts aimed at reinvigorating and broadening Jewish religious and cultural life.
Historical Newspapers: Jewish Exponent (1887 - 1990) This link opens in a new window
Has carried news of developments in Israel, efforts to rescue Jews the world over from repressive regimes, and the ever-expanding role of Jews in American public life. Along the way, it has garnered honors each year from the American Jewish Press Association for excellence in Jewish journalism for its news, features, reviews and commentary.
Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project This link opens in a new window
1895-present. Full text newspapers: The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present).

Proquest US Hispanic Newsstream
ca. 1998-present. Exact dates vary by publication. largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from US publishers in both Spanish and English including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La Opinión (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and Extra (Chicago).

20th Century Newspapers - Women's Interests

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text of publications devoted to women and gender issues, 1970-present.

20th Century Newspapers - Carnegie Mellon University

Access World News: The Tartan
2010-present. Browse issues or search for content.
Tartan
HUNT MFILM-3
v.1, 1906- (ON MICROFILM)
Paper edition kept one year.
Current 5 years in paper also in the Archives.
Available Online: Tartan

Tartan Database This link opens in a new window
A digital collection from the Carnegie Mellon University Archives. The Tartan has been the weekly student newspaper of first Carnegie Tech and now CMU since 1906. Perform your search, then limit to the Tartan using the collection filters on the left.

20th Century Newspapers - College and University News

Access World News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Includes current and archived news content from more than 12,700 sources spanning 200+ countries and territories. A combination of global, regional and local news, including a unique merging of news formats (full-text articles, web-only content, PDF image editions), this resource supports a diverse range of research needs across an array of academic disciplines for students and faculty. Exact dates of coverage vary by title, with most ca. 2000 - present.

American School & University
1992-present.
Chronicle of Higher Education
Includes about a year backfile in the Archive
Chronicle of Higher Education via Proquest
1988-present (full text, one month embargo)
1986-present (index and abstract).
Chronicle of Higher Education
HUNT MFILM-3
Hunt: v.1, 1966- (ON MICROFILM)
Education Week
2001-present.
Education Week
September, 1981-December 1987.
Times Educational Supplement
2008-present (6 month delay)
Times Educational Supplement
1950-April, 2010 (some exceptions)
Times Higher Education
2008-present.

Librarian for History and Languages, Cultures, & Applied Linguistics (LCAL)

Charlotte Kiger Price

she/her

Contact:

Hunt Library 109E
Pittsburgh, PA

Subjects: Education, Ethnic & Gender Studies, First Year Writing, History, Language & Linguistics, Law & Legal, Reference, Religion, Women's Studies

Newspapers by Date: 20th Century

20th Century Newspapers - European

20th Century Newspapers - United States

20th Century Newspapers - Pittsburgh

20th Century Newspapers - Latin America

20th Century Newspapers-African

20th Century Newspapers - Asian

20th Century Newspapers - Australian and New Zealand

20th Century Newspapers - Middle East

On this Page

20th Century Newspapers - African American

20th Century Newspapers - Canadian

20th Century Newspapers - Special Interest

20th Century Newspapers - Ethnic

20th Century Newspapers - Women's Interests

20th Century Newspapers - Carnegie Mellon University

20th Century Newspapers - College and University News

Librarian for History and Languages, Cultures, & Applied Linguistics (LCAL)