Search and display the full text of the Times (London), a major English language European newspaper
Hundreds of prison periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions. Development of the collection began in July 2020 and will continue through 2021, with new content added regularly.
An American illustrated literary and news publication, 1855-1922. Read more about Frank Leslie’s Weekly
Harper's Weekly, the general interest periodical published from 1857-1912, is a primary source for learning about nineteenth-century events, people, and culture. The HarpWeek Database consists of the pages of Harper's Weekly, scanned as images, together with a series of interactive indexes. It contains many images by Winslow Homer, Thomas Nast, and Mathew Brady. Literature in the database is searchable by title, author and literary genre. In addition, over 30,000 advertisements, categorized by topic and advertiser, are included. Harper's Weekly provides detailed information and insights on major and minor political, military, and social issues and events prior to and during the Civil War as well as The Reconstruction and Gilded Age.
The single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English.
One of America's largest cities, the Historical Boston Globe provides insight into such issues as immigration, rapid industrialization, technological innovation, and urban development and renewal.
One of the longest surviving daily newspapers in the United States, the Philadelphia Inquirer is known for its coverage of the American Civil War, its published works by Charles Dickens and Edgar Allan Poe, and its reporting of breaking news in the city, country, and around the world. Important Note: This database is currently under construction. Some dates and full text may not be available. Forthcoming in 2017 the database will cover 1829-2009.
1849-1853, the first newspaper for women under the editorship of Amelia Bloomer.
1868-1872, a weekly women’s rights newspaper, was the official publication of the National Woman Suffrage Association formed by feminists Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony to secure women’s enfranchisement through a federal constitutional amendment.
More than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Full text of 7 major 19th century African American newspapers from 1827-1870.
The single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English.
1849-1853, the first newspaper for women under the editorship of Amelia Bloomer.
1849-1881. Historical women's newspapers and journal dedicated to women's rights.
1868-1872, a weekly women’s rights newspaper, was the official publication of the National Woman Suffrage Association formed by feminists Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony to secure women’s enfranchisement through a federal constitutional amendment.
