Engineering and Public Policy

For more information on impact factor, see our Research Impact guide

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) won't reveal anything about your research per se, but lets you evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories. Journal Citation Reports is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences.

JCR can help you:

• Focus on desired subject categories, enabling you to review journal titles and key performance indicators in the category
• Compare multiple journals based on a chosen indicator
• Evaluate the performance of journals in which you or your organization has published research
• Recognize trending journals in key research categories
• Identify the ideal journal in which to publish your forthcoming research

One of the databases offered by the University Libraries, you can also access it via the Databases A-Z page.

Use it to see the number of times your work is mentioned on

• Social Media 
• Policy and Patents
• News (traditional and field specific)
• Blogs (major organizations and individuals)
• Other Sources (like Mendeley and CiteULike)
• Academic Sources 

To be tracked, your work must have a research output identifier, for example, a DOI, ISBN, etc.

Important: Altmetric Explorer

• measures attention, not quality.
• only tracks public attention.
• tracts only direct attention.
• provides a single metric that can be used for comparisons, so use it wisely 

Altmetric Explorer can also be use to see outputs of the University as a whole or by department.

Sci Val can be accessed from the Databases A-Z list, or from within the Scopus database.  It uses data from the Scopus database to all researchers to understand the impact of their work.  You need to register to use, or sign in with Elsevier credentials if you have them.

SciVal can:

• give an overview of the research performance of your institution and others based on output, impact, and collaborations
• benchmark determine strengths and weaknesses. Compare your research institution and teams to others based on performance metrics. 
• indentify and analyze existing and potential collaboration opportunities.
• give trends by analyzing reseach areas to find top performing universities, authors, and Scopus sources.

You can also access this database from the Libraries'  Database A-Z list.  While you don't need to register, having an account allows you to save searches, set alerts, etc.  While many know Scopus as a database for finding articles on a subject, you can also analyze an author's output in terms of their:

• publications
• H-Index
• Citations
• Co-authors

To see an author's output, go to the author search and enter name and affiliation:

Then enter the name and affiliation:

Select "view Ciation Overview:"

Citation overview provides graph and citation totals:

From this you can see documents, h-index, citation counts, co-authors: