CMU LibGuides: Quaranzines: Image Sources

Images for Class Projects

Using Images
a resource guide about finding and citing

Check out these individual collections:

NASA Images
USGS Maps
Biodiversity Heritage Library
Images & texts from a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries
Magazine Art: Advertising Art

Internet Archive Book Images This link opens in a new window
2.6 million images with searchable tags.

Google Images
You can run an image search in Google and then limit the search to those images marked as reusable. Run your search, click on Tools and then choose Labeled for Reuse, as shown below.

Using Google Images to find free-to-use images

Europeana Collections
Art, artifacts, books, films and music from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives. See Free to Use Images.

POND5
The Public Domain Project from POND5 features thousands of historic media files available including film, images, audio and 3D models.

Pexels
Pexels offers thousands of public domain images that are free to use without attribution, provided by generous professional photographers (however, it is best to attribute the photographer when possible!). See more information about the Pexels license.

Unsplash
Unsplash is another searchable database of free-to-use images and textures from professional photographers. While not necessary to credit the source for many of these images, it is best practice to do so, and a handy HTML code and copy-and-paste text is provided. See more information about the Unsplash license.

Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Over two million high-quality images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. NOTE: Artstor is now in JSTOR
Bridgeman Education This link opens in a new window
Over two million digital images of art, history, and culture from global museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists all copyright cleared for educational use.
Swiss Poster Collection This link opens in a new window
Graphic design excellence collected between 1970 and 2010 by designer and typographer Ruedi Ruegg; donated to CMU.

Not all images in these collections are in the public domain.

Check licenses!

See NYPL Public Domain Picks