Heinz College: 93-717 Writing for Creative Industries: Business and Industry Resources

Industry market research reports with analysis, data, conditions, segmentation, market share, primary companies, and outlook in the US, UK, China, US States, and globally.

Market data from many sources on Consumer Behavior, Entertainment, Media, Advertising, Healthcare, Leisure, Food, Sports, Travel and more. Includes access to archived content (use the link at the bottom of the page).

Market, industry, company, and demographic statistics, data-centered reports and dossiers, fully downloadable, various formats, international, easy-to-use.

Popular market and consumer insights resource that collects primary research on several traditional and specialized industries from various geographic perspectives including: Brazil, Canada, China, Germany, India, UK and US. Mintel produces data, info, and analysis in a report type of structure. 

Offers data and insights to the digital media consumer market. It focuses on understanding how consumers spend their time and money online and how marketers can best communicate with them via digital channels.

Combines multiple ProQuest business information databases that includes more than 130 million documents. Types of information include company reports, industry reports, journals, magazines, eBooks, videos, trade journals, and specialized reports from J.P. Morgan, Hoovers, BMI Research, and others. Databases in this resource include ABI/INFORM, Entrepreneurship Database, J.P. Morgan Research, and more! Database Guide

Academic and industry periodicals in all business disciplines. Also industry, company, and country reports.

Covers over 188 million global, public and private firms, with company and industry overviews, SWOT, financials, analyst reports, and more - gets a lot of information quickly. NOTE: Only 600,000 downloads per yer for entire campus. Please be judicious when downloading!

A comprehensive global database of private companies and investors activities. Contains advanced searches for private companies, investors, and deals information (especially private equity and venture capital). Also great for news on emerging markets. An excellent resource for startups and entrepreneurship research. (NOTE: You must create an account using your CMU email).

US private company financials, information on private M&A deals, valuations, venture capital, private equity, etc. Over 800,000 US private companies profiled. Good for locating investors and competitive intelligence. NOTE: You must create an account using your CMU email. Use of this database is for academic purposes only.

Various modules: US and Canadian company directories, new business filings, consumer lifestyles, and more, with data visualization and mapping. Good for both public and private company info.