Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Managing Across Cultures: Country and Culture Specific Information

Statistical Resources

Identity Beyond National Boundaries

Background Information Beyond Wikipedia

Advice!

Don't forget to check the country's website, they should have information about living and working in that country for new immigrants!

Intergovernmental organizations such as the World Bank and the European Union, also provide information about doing business and working in member states.

 

Social Science Databases

Databases By Region

Interdisciplinary Databases

Company Overviews - Reports

Cross Cultural Business Titles

An Experts' Guide to International Protocol: Best Practices in Diplomatic and Corporate Relations

Although modern life grows increasingly casual, in many sectors, protocol still reigns supreme. An Expert's Guide to International Protocol offers an overview of its associated practices, including those found within the context of diplomatic relations and the business world. Focusing on a wide range of countries and cultures, the book covers topics like seating arrangements, the history and use of flags, ceremonies, invitations and dress codes, and gifts and decorations. Throughout, influential diplomatic, business, cultural, and sports figures share their own experiences with protocols around the world.

CultureShock! Korea

About the Book CultureShock Korea is a compelling, elegantly-written and funny guide for anyone planning a stay in South Korea. Can you tell your bibimbap from your gimbap? Why is age such a big deal when addressing people? Do people really give bathroom tissue and laundry detergent at housewarming parties? What's so appealing about noraebangs? When introduced to someone, do you shake hands, bow or do both? And why do Koreans cheer you on by exclaiming, "Fighting "? Whether you're in South Korea to do business, seek pleasure or find your inner Hallyu diva, if you are lucky enough to find yourself on this peninsula where stunning natural scenery meets hyper-modern cities, get the most out of your stay with this essential and fun-to-read guide. About the Series CultureShock is a dynamic, indispensable series of guides for travellers looking to truly understand the countries they are visiting, working in or moving to. Each title explains the country's customs, traditions and social and business etiquette in a lively, informative style. CultureShock authors, all of whom have experienced the joys and pitfalls of cultural adaptation, are ideally placed to provide warm and helpful advice to those who seek to integrate seamlessly into diverse cultures.

Access to Asia

Create meaningful relationships that translate to betterbusiness Access to Asia presents a deeply insightful framework fortoday's global business leaders and managers, whether travelingfrom Toronto to Taipei, Baltimore to Bangalore, or San Francisco toShanghai. Drawing from her extensive experience and globalconnections, author Sharon Schweitzer suggests that irrespective oftheir industry, everyone is essentially in the relationshipbusiness. Within Asia, building trust and inspiring respect arevital steps in developing business relationships that transcendbasic contractual obligations. Readers will find in-the-trenchesadvice and stories from 80 regional experts in 10 countries,including China, Hong Kong, India, Japan, and Korea. Discover the unique eight-question framework that provides richinterview material and insight from respected cultural experts Track cultural progress over time and highlight areas in needof improvement with the Self-Awareness Profile Learn the little-known facts, reports, and resources that helpestablish and strengthen Asian business relationships Effective cross-cultural communication is mandatory for today'ssuccessful global business leaders. For companies and individualslooking to engage more successfully with their counterparts inAsia, Access to Asia showcases the critical people skillsthat drive global business success.

Don't They Know It's Friday?

A business handbook which addresses the cross cultural aspects of life affecting Westerners and Gulf nationals of all GCC countries and deals with the realities of business practice and the mental stresses and strains of operating in the Gulf as a Western visitor or expatriate.

The Etiquette Edge

Intelligence, ambition, and skill will start you on the road to success, but without strong communications skills, social savvy, and a sense of appropriate behavior . . . you won't get far. And in today's culture where rudeness is unfortunately becoming more and more routine, a strong competitive advantage goes to those who have sharpened the forgotten but fundamental skill of courtesy.In The Etiquette Edge, readers will get a crash course in the entire field of modern business manners. From interviewing etiquette and dress codes to working in close quarters and communicating upward, you'll master the essentials of making a great impression and building relationships, including:* The dos and don'ts of smartphone usage* Handling difficult conversations with tact and finesse* Checking your texts and emails for content and tone . . . before you hit send!* Creating a polished image on social media* Conducting meetings with poise and confidence* And moreYour coworkers and competitors are highly educated, ferociously go-getting, and great at their job . . . just like you. If you want to truly distinguish yourself from the crowd, focus on gaining the etiquette edge!

The Global Business Culture Guide

The Global Business Culture Guide is exactly that: a comprehensive guide designed to aide anyone doing business around the world, whether you're involved in global trade, working in an international project setting, employed by a multinational corporation, or otherwise dealing with foreign counterparts. The book explains fundamental aspects of global business interactions and discusses cultural influences on values, attitudes, expectations and practices. Most importantly, it gives country-specific advice on what to do, expect, and avoid in order to conduct business successfully in any of 50 countries around the world.Written by Lothar Katz, an international business coach and former corporate executive who worked with customers, suppliers, partners and employees, conducting negotiations and winning business in numerous countries around the world, and with contributing reviews from a large array of international business experts, The Global Business Culture Guide is a dependable reference.

CultureShock! Vietnam

About the Book: Culture Shock Vietnam aims to be the definitive account of the country for travellers or those relocating to the country. Based primarily on the author's first-hand experience in Vietnam, the book leads the reader on a journey that covers every aspect of arrival, settling in, integrating with local culture, and grappling with a wholly foreign language and customs. The book doesn't turn a blind eye to the country's warts, and it's also not tourist-minded propaganda. Culture Shock Vietnam simply presents Vietnam and its challenges for what they are, and provides useful strategies for adapting. About the Series: CultureShock is a comprehensive, dynamic and indispensable guide for travellers looking to truly understand the countries they are visiting, as well as expatriates settling into a new assignment in a foreign land. Each title explains the customs, traditions, social and business etiquette in a lively and informative style. CultureShock Authors, all of whom have experienced the joys and pitfalls of cultural adaptation, provide warm and informative advice to those who seek to integrate seamlessly into diverse cultures. The books have a friendly and honest writing style and are full of personal experiences, practical advise and useful information

Working with Americans book

Working with Americans

Anybody who has ever done business with Americans can testify that there are more differences than similarities between Americans and most business cultures in the rest of the world. There are differences in cultures, values, etiquette and even common business language which is quite often, well, uncommon. When it comes to building relationships and doing business deals with Americans, understanding and appreciating these behaviors, culture and business manners is vital to success. Everybody wants to work with people they relate to, who they believe they can trust -- and ultimately who speak my language. Working with Americans not only illuminates why Americans think and operate as they do, but also shows what you can do to play to your US colleagues preferences and business practices. This is the guide to understanding Americans in business, their culture and thinking; which will make you a more informed and confident manager and envoy. With confidence enhanced, you can be more relaxed, have fun, and focus on building lasting, profitable relationships.

CultureShock! Paris

About the Book CultureShock Paris is an indispensable guide for anyone planning a stay in the City of Light. Let Frances Gendlin, with her invaluable Parisian insider knowledge and non-native perspective, take you through the process of settling in, whether for short or longer stays. From finding your own pied-a-terre and navigating French bureaucracy to discussing haute cuisine and French wines, all the practical information you need is at your fingertips. As a guest in France, should you kiss your host or shake his hand? Is it rude to be late or a faux pas to be early for a party? And what about meeting the French and making friends? If you are lucky enough to find yourself in this exquisite and sophisticated city, get the most of out of your stay with this essential and fun-to-read guide About the Series CultureShock is a dynamic, indispensable series of guides for travellers looking to truly understand the countries they are visiting, working in or moving to. Each title explains the country's customs, traditions and social and business etiquette in a lively, informative style. CultureShock authors, all of whom have experienced the joys and pitfalls of cultural adaptation, are ideally placed to provide warm and helpful advice to those who seek to integrate seamlessly into diverse cultures.

CultureShock! Myanmar

About the Book CultureShock Myanmar is essential reading for any foreigner who is going to live and work in the country. It is packed full of practical information as well as interesting trivia on the colourful customs and culture of the people. Even though Myanmar has relaxed its restrictions on foreign visitors, the country is still relatively isolated compared to the rapidly globalising world. Learn how to get around the country effectively by trishaws like the locals and how to assimilate quickly and shop for groceries. Join in the local celebrations such as Tabaung and Tagu. Packed with a resource guide, glossary, contact numbers, website addresses and useful advice, CultureShock Myanmar has the answers for anyone wanting to fit in and enjoy life in the country "quite unlike any land you know about", as writer Rudyard Kipling had described. About the Series CultureShock is a dynamic, indispensable series of guides for travellers looking to truly understand the countries they are visiting, working in or moving to. Each title explains the country's customs, traditions and social and business etiquette in a lively, informative style. CultureShock authors, all of whom have experienced the joys and pitfalls of cultural adaptation, are ideally placed to provide warm and helpful advice to those who seek to integrate seamlessly into diverse cultures.