Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Management Literature - Scholarly Google
(Search Tips - very useful)
contains scholarly research: articles, theses, books, and unpublished papers from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. To get access to our subscriptions, go to "Settings, (at the top)" then "Library Links" (at left) - enter Carnegie Mellon in the search box, check the box appearing below, and Save.
Research from Associations, Organizations
Academy of Management
leading professional association for scholars dedicated to creating and disseminating knowledge about management and organizations.
INFORMS PubsOnLine This link opens in a new window
12 journal titles published by INFORMS, the professional association for operations research and management science.
Conference Board This link opens in a new window
Research reports on issues in business management and U.S. and global economics. NOTE: we do not have access to all reports in this databases (ex. Economics reports).
Company Overviews - Reports
Management Literature - Research Articles
Research databases contain thousands of journal articles - these are the best for management research. Difference from Google Scholar? They offer specialized searching capabilities.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles from industry and scholarly sources, periodicals, reports and dissertations, on business, management, corporate strategy, and the competitive landscape. Database Guide
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic and industry periodicals in all business disciplines, including the Harvard Business Review; also industry, company, and country reports.
Emerald Management Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Academic research about a variety of topics with particular focus in business and management issues. Contents include journals, books and case studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles in important academic journals from all disciplines (latest few years not available); also eBooks from leading academic publishers.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
1887-present. American Psychological Association's renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, it is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Database Guide
. Also see definitions of methodologies
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Helps design research projects, identify methods, conduct research, and write up findings. Basic source for research methods in all fields.
CARMA (Consortium for the Advancement of Research Methods and Analysis) This link opens in a new window
CMU's Center for Behavioral and Decision Research sponsors a university membership to CARMA (the Consortium for the Advancement of Research Methods and Analysis). CARMA provides webinars from leading industry methodologists in the social and organizational sciences. To access their content, go to CARMA
and create a free account using your andrew.cmu.edu email address.
Management Literature - Major Journals
Management Literature - Handbooks
Scholarly "handbooks" collect literature reviews, seminal research, or new approaches.
SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 3,000 business cases spanning a wide range of business disciplines from leadership to entrepreneurship, to family business and social impact. The platform provides select access to cases (click "content available to me"), a user-friendly platform, and downloading cases. SAGE has partnered with 20 business case producers, including Kellogg School of Management (Northwestern), Berkeley Haas (California), and the School of Management (Yale).