Skip to Main Content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

EndNote Online: Home

This is a brief guide to using EndNote

EndNote Online

DISCLAIMER: This guide is for the Online version.  If you are using Desktop, please go to "Learn More" for help.  There are no connection files for the online versions (you cannot search sources directly from EndNote Online);

HOWEVER, if you are using a Desktop version, you can search using the library database directly:

a. click the pin to save results to a folder (fig.1). 

b. When finished, you can click the folder to see saved results

c. Click on the ellipses to save the searches, and select EndNote(fig.2) [ps. you will be asked to log in first, once you are, you can continue to save as many records as you wish]

NOTE: Currently, there's no way to use connection files to connect to databases from EndNote Desktop.  You must use EndNote online.

 

Getting Started

To download the "free" version of EndNote Online, you need to:

  1. Click on the image below to open Carnegie Mellon University's link to  Web of Science (WoSci).
  2. In the new window, use the Sign In pull-down menu, select "Register" and follow registration instructions (marked step 2).
  3. Once you are registered, you can go to the EndNote tab (marked step 2) to start using EndNote Online.

Good to Know

  • EndNote Online supports various formats and citation styles, including specific journal styles [see Citation Styles in the Learn More box to the left].
  • Create a ResearcherID and groups to allow you to network and share you research!
  • WoSci provides basic access with 50K free storage for refernces and 2GB for documents.
  • Remote access only via Carnegie Mellon University Proxy.
  • Web of Sci EndNote Online connects you to Carnegie Mellon University's Library Catalog.  If you are paying for a Desktop or Online access, you can download connection files, styles, and more [see Downloads in the Learn More box on the left].

Importing files in EndNote Basic Online:

A. EndNote Basic Online will link to pdfs along with citations (if available).  You can do this by saving one or multiple records (full-records option) using the "Save to EndNote Online" feature.  [Note: this will NOT store the pdf unless you sync it with your desktop.  However, this only works within web of knowledge].  So ...

B. To import references from other databases, save the references as .ris file on your desktop and later import it to your EndNote Basic Online library.  [This will not include the pdfs], OR

C. You can save pdfs in a folder (my articles) and import the pdfs (one or multiple), which will populate the reference fields AS LONG AS THESE ARTICLES INCLUDE A Degital Object Identifier (DOI).  If not, then the reference fields cannot be populated automatically and need to be entered manually.

Importing files in EndNote Desktop:

You can generally follow the same steps for EndNote Basic Online in terms of importing files.  However, if you wish to attach pdfs for references that could NOT be auto-imported, then you can use the "Find Full-text" feature in EndNote Desktop, but not before you do some tweaking:

  1. Find the Edit (on a PC) or EndNote (on a Mac) menu, scroll to preferences and click.
  2. Make sure you check the Web of Knowledge box and the DOI box (to maximize import methods).
  3. Check the Open URL box and enter this URL: https://cmu.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/01CMU_INST/01CMU_INST:01CMU? 
  4. Be sure to enter this URL in the "Authentication with" box: https://cmu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

Important: the above will only work if we subscribe to the full-text and if it is available in pdf; otherwise, you can import references from saved pdfs (step C, above). 

Also, please agree to the copyright pop-up box that will appear when you use full text.

To search and export from databases, we strongly recommend that you use the database's own search to find and export articles.  You can then import them into EndNote.

Searching databases within EndNote Desktop is not recommended.  This feature is limited and ineffective because this feature:

  1. requires downloading connection files (one for each database and available here) AND inputting the library's user name and password for their subscription to the database, which cannot be directly provided to users.
  2. produces inconsistent results due varience in how publishers or providers restricting the export of large numbers of articles

If you wish to use EndNote's system for searching databases, information can be found in the online manual.

However, you can search our library catalog using EndNote Desktop by downloading the connection file to Carnegie Mellon University from EndNote Desktop (click read on EndNote below).  This will only allow you to search the library catalog and is not a connection file for the databases. [Note: you do not need to do this if you are using EndNote Web].

Carnegie Mellon University (Pa.) | EndNote

@EndNoteNews

EndNote

For additional help, please find your librarian and contact them.