Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
VIDEO COLLECTION LOCATION & HOURS
To locate videos that the library owns, you need to:
- Start with an Advanced Search in our library catalog
- Select "Video/Film" as Material Type
- "Select Any Field", "Title", "Subject" or "Author" and enter your search term accordingly
The form below is pre-set for material type video/film. You can start with step 3 and enter the criteria you desire (title, subject, etc.) to find films and videos at our library.
Early Motion Pictures and Sound Recordings of the Edison Companies (Library of Congress)
This site features 341 motion pictures, 81 disc sound recordings, and other related materials, such as photographs and original magazine articles.
Moving Image Archive (Internet Archive)
This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
National Screening Room (Library of Congress)
"The National Screening Room showcases the riches of the Library’s vast moving image collection, designed to make otherwise unavailable movies, both copyrighted and in the public domain, freely accessible to the viewers worldwide."
Approximately 11,000 digitized and videotape titles (all originally derived from film) and a large collection of home movies, amateur and industrial films.
Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection This link opens in a new window
More than three hundred important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the nation’s premiere radio theatre company. The L.A. Theatre Works Collection is also available in Drama Online
Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of influential performers and companies of the 20th century.
OnTheBoards.tv This link opens in a new window
Watch high-quality films of full-length performances by some of today's most provocative artists working in dance, theater, music and other forms that defy categorization.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of definitive theatre performances and documentaries.
A National Preserve of Documentary Films about American Roots Cultures
streamed with essays about the traditions and filmmaking.
Free full-length documentary films
National Film Board of Canada
The National Film Board of Canada's award-winning online Screening Room features over 3,000 productions.
POV (a cinema term for “point of view”) is television’s longest-running showcase for independent non-fiction films.
News (current & historic):
World Newsreels Online: 1929-1966 This link opens in a new window
A streaming video product which captures full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century. Newsreels are in English, French and Japanese.
DATABASES FOR FINDING RESEARCH RELATED TO FILM:
American Film Scripts Online This link opens in a new window
Over 1,100 scripts and makes available, for the first time, accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays.
PsycCRITIQUES This link opens in a new window
1956-2017. Produced by the American Psychological Association, full text book reviews featuring current scholarly and professional books in psychology. Also publishes reviews from a psychological perspective of popular films and trade books.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
1887-present. American Psychological Association's renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, it is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Database Guide
. Also see definitions of methodologies
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
1894-present.The full text of nearly 80 journals from the American Psychological Association as well as its imprint, the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor and errata from each journal.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (1880 - 2000) This link opens in a new window
Essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews. Database Guide
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles in important academic journals from all disciplines (latest few years not available); also eBooks from leading academic publishers.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works, covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods, and all regions of the world.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 395 international periodicals, plus full text for more than 160 of the indexed journals. The database covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, opera, performance art, film, television and more. Coverage: 1864 - current. Database Guide
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Current humanities and social science journals from a variety of university presses.
RELEVANT RESEARCH GUIDES:
The following research guides may contain additional resources for researching films:
If you need help with films and audio visual resources, you may contact your librarian or our Libraries' Media Circulation Assistant.
WHAT DO YOU WANT TO DO?