Film Studies: Film Resources

More than three hundred important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the nation’s premiere radio theatre company. The L.A. Theatre Works Collection is also available in Drama Online.

Streaming video of influential performers and companies of the 20th century.

Streaming video of definitive theatre performances and documentaries.

Provides remote access to over 25,000 documentary and feature films on many subjects: arts, business, global studies, health, sciences, technical training, etc. Please read these changes to the Kanopy Streaming Service. For questions, contact Kim Dolan.

The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is one of the most extensive and complete archives of television news anywhere in the world. We have been recording, preserving, and providing access to television news broadcasts of the U.S. national networks since August 5, 1968. The core collection includes daily evening news programs from ABC, CBS, and NBC along with CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).

A streaming video product which captures full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century. Newsreels are in English, French and Japanese.

Over 1,100 scripts and makes available, for the first time, accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays.

1956-2017. Produced by the American Psychological Association, full text book reviews featuring current scholarly and professional books in psychology. Also publishes reviews from a psychological perspective of popular films and trade books.

1887-present. American Psychological Association's renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, it is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Database Guide. Also see definitions of methodologies.

1894-present.The full text of nearly 80 journals from the American Psychological Association as well as its imprint, the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor and errata from each journal.

Articles in academic journals from all disciplines. Database Guide.

Essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2015. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews. Database Guide

A comprehensive resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works, covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods, and all regions of the world.

Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 395 international periodicals, plus full text for more than 160 of the indexed journals. The database covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, opera, performance art, film, television and more. Coverage: 1864 - current. Database Guide