LibGuides: Teaching and Learning Toolkit: Information Literacy

Definitions:

- A “set of skills needed to find, retrieve, analyze, and use information." - ACRL

- "... the hyper-ability to know when there is a need for information, to be able to identify, locate, evaluate, and effectively use that information for the issue or problem at hand." United States National Forum on Information Literacy

Other definitions focus on aspects of literacy such as digital literacy, metaliteracy, etc.

Bibliographic Instruction v. Information Literacy

	Bibliographic Instruction	Information Literacy
Responsibility/Control	Instructor-led	Collaborative responsibility
Relation to curriculum	External/tangential	Integral
Placement in curriculum	Isolated learning episodes (one-shot, workshop, unlinked credit courses)	Pervasive throughout the curriculum, linked credit courses, competency requirements
Content focus	Tools, search interfaces	Overarching concepts, critical thinking processes, thinking standards
Teaching methods	Librarian control/didactic approaches	Construction of learning environments; librarian and faculty act as guides, facilitators
Learning transfer	Limited (except skills)	Increased due to multiple learning opportunities, internal motivation, deeper grasp of concepts
Assessment	Focus on limited evaluations, skill-based measurements	Focus on competencies, standards as yardstick for outcomes based approaches
Relationship to place	Focus on specific libraries	Focus on unbounded universe of information
Role of technology	Limited, used in relatively inflexible ways	Expanded role, variety of technologies selected to match instructional situations (“technology as a lever”)
Created by Craig Gibson, Associate University Librarian for Public Services at George Mason University, and Karen Williams, Digital Library Initiatives Team Leader, the University of Arizona for the Immersion Program at ACRL/Institute for Information Literacy and Copyright held by ALA.

Teaching & Learning Principles:

T&L principles - ACRL
A comprehensive toolkit providing instruction librarians various links to teaching guidelines, best practices in instruction, learning tutorials, opportunities for professional development, and other great resources to learn more about the academic or research library's significance in higher education.
T&L - ACRL Instruction Section
great resource for instruction librarianship. The IS Committees tab leads users to a comprehensive list of IS committees, with each committee page containing links to archived materials and, more importantly, links to various resources including current or ongoing committee projects, Adobe-based discussion series, tips and trends lists, newsletters, programs, reading lists, bibliographies, and so on. For example, the Instruction for Diverse Populations committee provides a direct link to their Bibliography, which contains valuable information and additional links to Zotero-based bibliographies with resources on first-year students, underrepresented groups in higher education, and transfer students.
InnovativeLearning.com
This website provides a well-organized table containing resourceful links on teaching and learning. Topics include educational administration, learning theory, assessment, organizational learning, and other important areas in education. The table was constructed by Richard Culatta, the Senior Advisor to the U.S. Secretary of Education and the Director of the Office of Educational Technology at the U.S. Department of Education.

Backward Design

Backwward Design
A guideline for understanding the concepts of backward design. Originally posited by Wiggins and McTighe, backward design "begins with the end in mind," meaning that learning outcomes, teaching strategies, and evidence of understanding are determined prior to delivering instruction. This PDF provides instruction librarians with questions to ask oneself during the instructional design process and stages to help organize one's instruction session.

Inquiry-Based Learning

McKinney's Guide to Inquiry-Based Learning and Information Literacy
This paper discusses the educational practices best suited for information literacy instruction. It specifically focuses on inquiry-based learning and how this style of learning can be used to support teaching information literacy.

Tha Academy of Inquiry Based Learning

PRIMO
As a part of ACRL, the PRIMO Committee’s freely accessible database is an amalgam of teaching materials for instruction librarians. It contains tutorials on citation styles and management, intellectual property issues, effective research practices, and even materials for more specific subjects such as writing literature reviews. It also has learning tutorials for certain disciplines. The database can be used as inspiration for one’s instructional methods.
Community of Online Research Assignments (CORA)
CORA (Community of Online Research Assignments) is similar to PRIMO in that it is an open access database dedicated to providing faculty and librarians with effective lesson plans or assignments involving research. These materials contain critical feedback from Project CORA's online community members and are great for engaging students with information resources.

Reconciling Information Literacy with the ACRL Framework (select articles):

Assessing Student Learning by Linda Suskie
Call Number: Available Online
ISBN: 9781119426936
Publication Date: 2018-02-13
College Libraries and Student Culture by Lynda M. Duke
Call Number: Available Online
ISBN: 0838993575
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Leading Student Assessment by Charles F. Webber (Editor); Judy L. Lupart (Editor)
Call Number: Available Online
ISBN: 9789400717275
Publication Date: 2011-09-18

Major Standards (Listed alphabetically)

ACRL Framework
While students' information literacy (IL) skills are traditionally measured using standards and performance indicators, the relatively new ACRL Framework for understanding and teaching IL is a flexible, adaptable framework that allows instruction librarians to "locally" measure student proficiencies in IL according to one's learning goals.
Big6 Skills
A concise, step-by-step guideline for accessing, evaluating, and using information effectively.
Seven Faces of IL
Christine Bruce, science and engineering faculty member at Queensland University in Australia, provides us with seven different understandings of information literacy, with each understanding accompanied by a graphic representation.
Seven Pillars of IL
he Society of College, National, and University Libraries' (SCONUL) provide instruction librarians with seven core components to information literacy that help guide one's instruction sessions or learning assessments. These seven components are accompanied by visual aids for added clarity and comprehension.

Threshold Concepts

Amy Hofer, Sylvia Lu, and Lori Townsend discuss ways in which threshold concepts can be incorporated in information literacy instruction.

Good Reads

Critical Library Instruction by Emily Drabinski (Editor); Alana Kumbier (Editor); Maria Accardi (Editor)
Call Number: Z711.25 .C65 C75 2010
ISBN: 9781936117017
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Reading, Research, and Writing by Mary Snyder Broussard
Call Number: Online (forthcoming)
ISBN: 9780838988756
Publication Date: 2017-03-01
Reflective Teaching, Effective Learning by Char Booth
Call Number: Z711.2 .B66 2011
ISBN: 0838910521
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
Successful Strategies for Teaching Undergraduate Research by Marta Deyrup (Editor); Beth Bloom (Editor)
Call Number: LB2369 .S827 2013
ISBN: 9780810887169
Publication Date: 2013-09-11
Teaching Information Literacy Threshold Concepts by Patricia Bravender; Hazel Dean McClure; Gayle Schaub
Call Number: ZA3075 .T434 2015
ISBN: 9780838987711
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
Transliteracy in Complex Information Environments by Suzana Sukovic
Call Number: Available Online
ISBN: 9780081009017
Publication Date: 2016-10-24
Visual Literacy for Libraries by Nicole E. Brown; Kaila Bussert; Denise Hattwig; Ann Medaille
Call Number: ZA3075 .B77 2016
ISBN: 9780838913819
Publication Date: 2016-03-01