CMU LibGuides: Arts & Entertainment Management: Data and Statistics

Public Opinion and Polling

The Roper Center Public Opinion Research Archive
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world’s leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from public opinion surveys. Click here for a quick link to Roper's questions and data on leisure activities.
Pew Global Attitudes Project Key Indicators Database
Pew Research Center conducts public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people's assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day. This site offers online data analysis and raw data download.
Pew Internet & American Life
"The Pew Research Center’s Internet & American Life Project aims to be an authoritative source on the evolution of the internet through surveys that examine how Americans use the internet and how their activities affect their lives."
The Gallup Organization
The Gallup site contains polling results from 1997 to the present. These reports include a summary, the questions asked, and the results for specific questions.

Geospatial Resources

MTSOfan Flickr via Compfight cc

For more about geospatial data, visit the Spatial Data research guide.

Social Explorer
Visual and numerical presentation of U.S. census data and a wide range of demographic information, 1790 – present. Creates maps and reports at levels from national to block group.
PolicyMap
A U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications. Useful for social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Includes thousands of U.S. data indicators for demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level.

Arts and Entertainment Data and Statistics

National Archive of Data on Arts & Culture
The NADAC is a data repository that acquires data from funded research and makes it availability to researchers, policymakers and organizations.
National Center for Charitable Statistics (Urban Institute)
The Center is a national repository of data on the nonprofit sector in the United States. Its mission is to develop and disseminate high quality data on nonprofit organizations and their activities for use in research on the relationships between the nonprofit sector, government, the commercial sector, and the broader civil society.
Bureau of Labor Statistics Arts, Entertainment and Recreation
The BLS provide this industry snapshot and links to more information about the arts, entertainment and recreation sector.
DataArts
DataArts, formerly the Cultural Data Project, was founded to bring the language and leverage of data to the business of culture. The Cultural Data Profile (CDP) is DataArts’ flagship service, which thousands of cultural nonprofits use annually to report their financial and programmatic information. DataArts seeks to be a catalyst for data-informed decision-making.
Strategic National Arts Alumni Project
SNAAP is "an online survey, data management, and institutional improvement system designed to enhance the impact of arts-school education."
Americans for the Arts Research and Data
This non-profit organization "serves, advances, and leads the network of organizations and individuals who cultivate, promote, sustain, and support the arts in America." The provide some data-rich reports related to the arts and communities.

Demographics and Consumer Behavior

Bureau of Labor Statistics
The US government's body for the collection and dissemination of data on employment, wages, productivity, occupations, prices, etc. They also conduct and provide data for the
American Time Use Survey, which looks at the way Americans spend their time, including leisure activities.

Sage Data
Interdisciplinary datasets with mapping, graphing, and report-generating capability. Includes datasets on consumer behavior, spending on leisure activities and media use.
EMARKETER
New platform includes access to eMarketer content and Business Insider Intelligence content. eMarketer offers data and insights to the digital media consumer market. It focuses on understanding how consumers spend their time and money online and how marketers can best communicate with them via digital channels. Industries covered include automotive, consumer products, financial services, healthcare, telecom and media and entertainment.
ReferenceUSA (now Data Axle)
Various modules: US and Canadian company directories, new business filings, consumer lifestyles, and more, with data visualization and mapping. Good for both public and private company info.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Thousands of statistical publications on all topics, primarily government and public domain but including private and licensed resources. It includes the National Arts Index, reports from the National Endowment for the Arts, and much more. Recent data is available at the link above; earlier data is on microfiche in Hunt Library.
Statista
Market, industry, company, and demographic statistics, data-centered reports and dossiers, fully downloadable, various formats, international, easy-to-use.

Includes access to the Consumer Insights (formerly Global Consumer Survey, a resource that offers global consumption and media usage data of consumers. A great market research tool for consumer behavior and interactions with brands. Select the Insights > Explore Consumer Insights within Statista.

US Census Data Portal
This is the main portal to the data and statistics collected by the US Census Bureau. Includes voluminous demographic data on the U.S. from national to zip code level.
Claritas Zip Code Look-Up
This zip code look up tool provides demographic and behavioral information about consumer segments. "Claritas' lifestyle segmentation systems define every household in the U.S. by distinct lifestyle types, called "segments", to provide you with a comprehensive picture of who lives where and what they are like."
More useful databases here

More sources for datasets

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS--University of Minnesota - Minnesota Population Center)
Two groups of data are available. IPUMS-USA consists of twenty-five samples of the American population drawn from the federal censuses of 1850 to 1990. IPUMS-International is dedicated to collecting and distributing census data from around the world.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
The ICPSR archive includes studies from the social sciences and related disciplines. Since Carnegie Mellon is a member of ICPSR, faculty and students can order data free of charge. Data files can be downloaded directly to your on-campus workstation from the web site.
Data USA
A free resource that aggregates US government data and provides a portal for searching, mapping, comparing and downloading data from government sources.
Pew Research Center Datasets
The Pew Research Center's Internet Project offers access for scholars to raw datasets from their research. These datasets cover a wide variety of topics related to the use of the Internet and technology.
Enigma Public
"Enigma Public is a community platform built on top of the world's broadest library of public data. Enigma Public enables users to connect, discover and build on public datasets, through the platform API."

Local and Regional Data

Western PA Regional Data Center
"The Data Center maintains Allegheny County and the City of Pittsburgh’s open data portal, and provides a number of services to data publishers and users. The Data Center also hosts datasets from these and other public sector agencies, academic institutions, and non-profit organizations."
Allegheny County Analytics
Provided by the Allegheny Country Dept of Human Services, this portal provides data sets, publications, visualizations and more to support data analytics for topics related to populations and services in Allegheny County.
Allegheny County GIS Open Data
For spatial data sets related to Allegheny County, including a broad range of topic areas from health and social services to business and the environment.
Open Data Pennsylvania
The state of Pennsylvania's open data portal. Provides access to data at the state and county level across a broad range of topics.

RAND State Statistics
RAND State Statistics includes a collection of more than 200 socioeconomic databases that cover all 50 U.S. states. Databases contain an average of 20 years of data and cover topics including Births, Medicare, Median Household Income, Population by Multi-race/Ethnicity and Age Group, and Local Government Finances.