Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

99-519: Documenting the History of Policing and Campus Safety at CMU

This guide provides resources and information that might be useful for this course.

About this Guide

Potentially Harmful Content

The University Archives recognizes that you may encounter materials in our collection containing harmful and/or offensive language both in historical records and the tools we create to describe them. Archival records are historical documents, and therefore they are unaltered to maintain their integrity and to foster accountability for the actions and views of the record’s creator. The language used by record creators and the materials they collected reflects the time and social context in which they were created. If you encounter harmful or offensive materials please contact an archivist so we can add a warning note to the collection. 

Workflow

Workflows for how to document materials.

Found in the archive:

  • Using a scanning app, capture item and export as a PDF. Include all relevant pages.
    • Save the file using the file naming convention found here.
  • Create a new citation in Zotero in the "University Archives" folder and attach the PDF.

Found in the Digital Collections:

  • Create a new citation in Zotero in the "University Archives" folder.
    • Include the link to the item in the metadata.

For more information see the Citing Primary Sources from the Archives in Zotero tab.


Found online, outside the Digital Collections:

  • Create a new citation in Zotero in the "New Sources" folder.
    • Include the item's URL in the metadata.
  • Download any reports or documents as Pdfs from the website and attach the files in Zotero.
    • Follow the file naming conventions found here.

 Found on campus, outside the Archives

  • Using a scanning app, capture item and export as a PDF. Include all relevant pages.
    • Follow the file naming conventions found here.
  • Create a new citation in Zotero in the "New Sources" folder and attach the PDF.
  • Drop off the physical item in the Archives' reading room.

For more information see the Citation Management with Zotero tab.