CMU LibGuides: Mechanical Engineering: Find Articles

Quick Links

Connecting from Off Campus
E-Z Borrow
Borrow books from 60+ regional academic libraries.
ILLiad
If your books, articles, theses, or other materials are unavailable at CMU, you may be able to borrow them from another library using ILLiad.

Need Help Using Databases?

Introduction to Research Datatbases and Guides

Recommended Databases

Mechanical Engineering Databases from Our A-Z Listing

Some Specific Databases are Below:

Compendex This link opens in a new window
1970- (updated monthly). Engineering Index. 1884-1992. The world's premiere interdisciplinary engineering database, covering journals, technical reports and conferences.
Dimensions This link opens in a new window
One of the largest linked research knowledge databases bringing together information on publications, grants, patents, clinical trials, policy documents and datasets into a single place for improved global discovery and analysis. Create an account using your CMU email address to gain full access to ‘Dimensions Plus.’ Dimensions Plus allows access to the Analytical Views feature and allows for saved searching, as well as other features. Dimensions is one of the several products we license from Digital Science, and is connected through our scholarly communication ecosystem to KiltHub (figshare), Altmetric Explorer, and Elements.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
1988- (updated monthly). Provides full-image access to the publications of both the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE); includes all journals, magazines, standards and conference proceedings published since 1988. Each image includes all charts, graphs, diagrams, photographs, and illustrative material.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
January 1969- (updated weekly). Science Abstracts. 1898-1940. Computer and Control Abstracts. 1966-1992. Electrical and Electronics Abstracts. 1966-1994. Electrical Engineering Abstracts. 1903-1965. Physics Abstracts. 1941-1992. Provides access to "scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computing and control, and information technology."
NTIS - now the National Technical Reports Library (NTRL) This link opens in a new window
1964 - (updated monthly). The NTIS database is the preeminent, official resource for government sponsored U.S. and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering and business-related information.
SAE MOBILUS This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed summaries and bibliographic data for SAE technical papers since 1906, magazine articles, books, all ground vehicle and aerospace standards, specifications, and research reports.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Academic database covering peer-reviewed journals, book series, and conference proceedings - includes scientific, medical, technical and social science topics, with emphasis on citation analysis. Scival feature requires registration but is free to CMU affiliates.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
1945 - (updated weekly).

Need Help?

Ask Us Chat/Text Message and more

Email the Mechanical Engineering Department Liaison Librarian

Call the Mechanical Engineering Department Liaison Librarian at 412-268-7212