Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mechanical Engineering: Find Properties of Materials

Online Resources

MatWeb

MatWeb's searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.

NAS/NRC reports: Materials

On-line access to National Academy of Sciences and National Research Council reports on materials topics.

Do you have a suggestion?

E & S Library Resources

To find property data for materials, try the following resources in the E & S Library:

Alloy Digest
Published 1952 -
E & S Library Reference Area: TA490 .A4
Each sheet gives manufacturer, composition, properties, recommended treatments and applications of a particular alloy.

The Metals Black Book - Nonferrous Metals. [CD-ROM].
Published: 1998
Author: Bringas, John E. and Michael L. Wayman.
E & S Library Public Computer: BB252
Contains data from American and Canadian standards. Includes chemical compositions, mechanical properties, physical properties, and machining data.

The Metals Red Book - Nonferrous Metals. [CD-ROM]
Published: 1998
Author: Bringas, John E. and Michael L. Wayman
Engineering and Science Library Public Computer: BB253
Contains data from American and European standards. Includes aluminum, copper, nickel, titanium, zinc, tin (solders), precious metals, zirconium and cobalt alloys.

Carbon and Alloy Steels.
Published:1996.
Author: Davis, Joseph R., ed.
E & S Library Reference Collection: TA479 .C37C37

ASM Engineered Materials Reference Book. 2nd ed.
Published:1994
Author: Bauccio, Michael, ed.
E & S Library Reference Collection: TA403.4 .A84 1994

OR use these databases:

Knovel
A database of the full text of over 800 science & engineering handbooks.

Materials Research Database with METADEX (Metals Abstracts)
Content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application.


Need Help?

Ask a Librarian  Chat/IM/Text Message  and more

Email the Mechanical Engineering Department Liaison Librarian
Call the Mechanical Engineering Department Liaison Librarian at 412-268-2428

Engineering and Science Library Reference Service Hours

Mon - Thurs: 9 am - 8 pm
Fri: 9 am - 5 pm
Sat: 1 pm - 5 pm
Sun: 1 pm - 5 pm

Call the E&S Reference Desk at 412-268-2427
Email the E&S reference Desk