Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Mechanical Engineering: Starting Point

Databases

Web of Science
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.
Scopus
Academic database covering peer-reviewed journals, book series, and conference proceedings - includes scientific, medical, technical and social science topics, with emphasis on citation analysis. Scival feature requires registration but is free to CMU affiliates.
Other databases

Many more databases available through CMU library's catalog

Welcome to the Mechanical Engineering LibGuide

This guide is intended to help students at all levels and faculty in Mechanical Engineering with research on mechanical engineering and related subjects.

Services for Students

Services I can offer you ...

  • Reference assistance for any question (big or small);
  • Strategies for searching article databases;
  • Help finding that elusive article, conference paper, thesis or patent;
  • Tips on managing your research in or outside of the lab;
  • Contact me via phone, email or in-person (during office hours or by appointment)

Services for Faculty

  • Liaison
  • Library instruction for your classes
  • Collection development
  • Research Data Management assistance
  • Research  help
  • Help finding that elusive article, conference paper, thesis or patent
  • Contact me via phone, email or in-person (during office hours or by appointment)

Liaison Librarian